RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 3 (February 25, 2017 7:54 am)
RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 2 (February 24, 2017 7:58 am)
FEZZARI LOVE IT OR RETURN IT GUARANTEE (February 23, 2017 12:57 pm)
BEING THERE: ELEVATE-KHS TEAM CAMP (February 20, 2017 11:31 am)
Newest CTS Coach: Matthew Busche (February 16, 2017 10:46 am)
Tour de France 2014

Tour de France: Stage 15 Results

July 20, 2014
Comments off
Katusha’s Alexander Kristoff won his second stage of this year’s Tour de France on Sunday’s 15th stage. (Photo: Bettini)

Alexander Kristoff gained his second victory of the Tour de France on Sunday as he came home first on the 222km 15th stage from Tallard to Nimes. The Norwegian powered through in a sprint finish to deny New Zealander Jack Bauer, who came within 100 meters of winning after a breakaway of more than 200km. Australian Heinrich Haussler was second with Peter Sagan of Slovakia third. While Katusha’s Kristoff will be celebrating on Sunday night, it was cruel luck for tearful Bauer. Alongside Swiss champion Martin Elmiger, the Kiwi had spent almost the entire race in an escape. They took off from the start and within 25km already had a lead of more than eight minutes. That eked out to almost nine minutes before the chase began. It seemed to be all over when the gap came down to 3min with still 60km to ride but the chase was disjointed. With 8.5km left they still had 45sec and it seemed like they might hold on. Into the final kilometer they had around 12sec and it looked touch and go. The two riders kept collaborating right to the end and when they launched the sprint the peloton was right on their heels. Bauer had the stronger legs but agonizingly was caught in the last 100m and finished 10th, bursting into tears after crossing the line exhausted. Race leader Vincenzo Nibali had a relatively calm day in the saddle, maintaining his 4:37 lead over Spain’s Alejandro Valverde with Romain Bardet still third at 4:50.

1. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 4h56min 43sec (average: 44,9 km/h)
2. Heinrich Haussler (AUS/IAM) at 0:00.
3. Peter Sagan (SVK/CAN) 0:00.
4. Andr‚ Greipel (GER/LTB) 0:00.
5. Mark Renshaw (AUS/OPQ) 0:00.
6. Bryan Coquard (FRA/EUC) 0:00.
7. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/GRM) 0:00.
8. Romain Feillu (FRA/BSE) 0:00.
9. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) 0:00.
10. Jack Bauer (NZL/GRM) 0:00.

1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 66h49min 37sec
2. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) at 4:37.
3. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 4:50.
4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 5:06.
5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 5:49.
6. Jean Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) 6:08.
7. Bauke Mollema (NED/BKN) 8:33.
8. Leopold K”nig (CZE/APP) 9:32.
9. Laurens ten Dam (NED/BKN) 10:01.
10. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) 10:48.


Comments are closed.