Tour de Suisse 2015 - 5a tappa Unterterzen/Flumserberg - Solden/Rettenbachgletscher 237.3 km - 17/06/2015 - Veduta - foto Vincent Kalut/PN/BettiniPhoto©2015

Tour De Suisse: Stage 5, Results + VIDEO

June 17, 2015
Comments off

(Road Bike Action & AFP; Photo: Bettini)

Frenchman Thibaut Pinot made a statement about his Tour de France credentials in winning Wednesday’s fifth stage of the Tour of Switzerland to move into the race leader’s yellow jersey. Third at the Grand Boucle last year, Pinot soloed to victory at the end of the 237km stage from Unterterzen to Soelden in Austria. Italian Domenico Pozzovivo finished second at 34sec with Simon Spilak of Slovenia third at 37sec.

Britain’s Geraint Thomas moved into second overall at 42sec after finishing fifth on the stage. Spilak is third overall with Pozzovivo fourth. Previous yellow jersey wearer Tom Dumoulin fought hard to hold onto his lead but drops to seventh overall after coming home 10th at more than a minute and a half down. Pinot has proved to be in fine form recently having also won a stage at last month’s Tour de Romandie where he finished fourth overall.

“Switzerland has been good to me, this stage was my aim,” Pinot told Swiss channel RTS. “But there are still four stages, including a time-trial on Sunday where I’ll have to watch out for the ‘rouleurs.'”

On the final 14km climb to the finish, Spilak was the first to attack with 8km left but Pinot chased him down and then with 2km to ride he left his rivals in his wake. He then reeled in the last of the day’s breakaway riders, Stefan Denifl, who faded to ninth. Thursday’s stage six from Will to Biel/Bienne covers 237km.

1. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 6hr 22min 47sec
2. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) at 34sec
3. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 37
4. Miguel Lopez Moreno (COL/AST) 43
5. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) same time
6. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 1:15
7. Jan Hirt (CCC) 1:18
8. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 1:29
9. Stefan Denifl (AUT/IAM) 1:31
10. Tom Dumoulin (NED/TGA) 1:37

1. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 17hr 42min 01sec
2. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 47
3. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 50
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 55
5. Miguel Lopez Moreno (COL/AST) 1:07
6. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 1:27
7. Tom Dumoulin (NED/TGA) 1:32
8. Steve Morabito (SUI/FDJ) 2:29
9. Sebastien Reichenbach (SUI/IAM) 2:43
10. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 2:46


Comments are closed.