RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 3 (February 25, 2017 7:54 am)
RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 2 (February 24, 2017 7:58 am)
FEZZARI LOVE IT OR RETURN IT GUARANTEE (February 23, 2017 12:57 pm)
BEING THERE: ELEVATE-KHS TEAM CAMP (February 20, 2017 11:31 am)
Newest CTS Coach: Matthew Busche (February 16, 2017 10:46 am)

Tour de France Stage 20: Cavendish Dishes It Out In Paris

July 25, 2010
Comments off
Take 5: Mark Cavendish (HTC-Columbia) wins his 5th stage in the 2010 Tour de France, and back to back win on the Champs-Elysees.
(Photo: Roberto Bettini)

The unbeatable, unstoppable Mark Cavendish grabbed his 5th stage win in the 2010 Tour de France on the Champs-Elysees Sunday. Cavendish became the first rider to win back to back years the on Champs-Elysees in the final stage of the Tour.

The 102 kilometer 20th and final stage of the Tour meandered from Longjumeau to Paris, ending with 8 laps around Paris through the Place de la Concorde and down the famous boulevard, the Champs-Elysees.

Recovery Spin to Paris

The peloton took a leisurely spin through the French countryside and the Southern outskirts of Paris, as is the custom on the final stage of the Tour. The traditional Champagne was served to third time Tour de France winner Alberto Contador and his Astana team as the team managers congratulated from their cars.

Ironic Mechanical

As the peloton meandered, Contador and Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank) made a show for the cameras attacking each other, sprinting and giving each other taunting looks. Ironically, during this game, Schleck’s chain fell off again as it did in Stage 15 when he lost 39 seconds to Contador. Schleck was forced to drop back to the team car and make a bike change. No time was lost in the overall this time around everyone slowed down.

Let the Racing Begin

Once the peloton arrived in Paris the racing began. A 12-man breakaway which included Lance Armstrong formed with 35 kilometers remaining and they managed to collaborate well on the eight laps of the Champs-Elysees to keep their lead at a steady 20 seconds.

With 12 kilometers to go the lead dropped to 16 seconds, and with the lack of faith in their ability to go all the way came the first attack off the front from German Christian Knees of Milram. That left seven riders in front, but three kilometres further on Armstrong’s bid to close his 17-year acquaintance with the race in style was dashed when he was dropped.
A leading trio of Knees, Dutch veteran Karsten Kroon and Dane Nicki Sorensen began the last lap with a 14 second lead on the peloton and 7 kilometers to race. That lasted until Lampre took control of the race and ensured the sprinters would have their day. Cavendish simply sped by the others to take his 15th stage win in his Tour de France career.

“It’s one of the most beautiful feelings in the world, winning on the Champs Elysees,” said Cavendish, who comes from the Isle of Man. “I didn’t have the best start to the race but once we got that first stage win we went on a roll.
“It’s a roller coaster of emotions racing the Tour de France. For me it’s the most beautiful event in the world.”

Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-Farnese Vini) came across the line in second and retained the green jersey, with Julian Dean (Garmin-Transitions) in third and Thor Hushovd (Cervelo TestTeam) in 7th.

The Final Jerseys
Contador won his third Tour de France and the coveted yellow jersey. “I had some tough moments on this year’s race, as much from a mental as physical point of view,” said Contador, who has now won five Grand Tours after his Tour of Spain and Tour of Italy wins in 2008. “I think that managing to cope during those days was the reason I won the Tour. I suffered a lot to get this result. Words don’t explain what it means to me.”

Andy Schleck took his third white jersey of the young rider competition and Anthony Charteau (Bbox-Bouygues Telecom) won the polka dots of the climbers. Petacchi won the green jersey of the sprinters. Team RadioShack took the team prize giving Lance Armstrong his final opportunity to stand on the podium in Paris as a competitor in the Tour de France.

Stage 20 Results:
1. Mark Cavendish (GBR) HTC-Columbia
2. Alessandro Petacchi (ITA) Lampre-Farnese Vini
3. Julian Dean (NZL) Garmin-Transitions
4. Jurgen Roelandts (BEL) Omega Pharma- Lotto
5. Oscar Freire (ESP) Rabobank
6. Gerald Ciolek (GER) Milram
7. Thor Hushovd (NOR) Cervelo TestTeam
8. Matti Breschel (DEN) Saxo Bank
9. Robbie McEwen (AUS) Katusha
10. Daniel Oss (ITA) Liquigas

Overall Final Results for the 2010 Tour de France:
1. Alberto Contador (ESP) Astana in  91 hours 58 minutes and 48 seconds
2. Andy Schleck (LUX) Saxo Bank at 39″
3. Denis Menchov (RUS) Rabobnk  at 2’01”
4. Samuel Sanchez (ESP) Euskatel-Euskadi at 3’40”
5. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL) Omega Pharma-Lotto  at 6’54”
6. Robert Gesink (NED) Rabobank  at 9’31”
7. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN)  Garmin-Transitions  at 10’15”
8. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP) Katusha  at 11’37”
9. Roman Kreuziger (CZE) Liquigas  at 11’54”
10. Chris Horner (USA) RadioShack  at 12’02”


Comments are closed.