RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 3 (February 25, 2017 7:54 am)
RACE REPORT: TOUR OF ABU DHABI STAGE 2 (February 24, 2017 7:58 am)
FEZZARI LOVE IT OR RETURN IT GUARANTEE (February 23, 2017 12:57 pm)
BEING THERE: ELEVATE-KHS TEAM CAMP (February 20, 2017 11:31 am)
Newest CTS Coach: Matthew Busche (February 16, 2017 10:46 am)
Tour de France 2013

Tour de France Results: Stage 18

July 18, 2013
Comments off

Bettini Photo

Yellow jersey holder Chris Froome extended his lead over Alberto Contador as Christope Riblon triumphed atop the Alpe d’Huez on stage 18 to end the hosts’ victory famine on Thursday. Froome began the day with a 4min 34sec lead on Contador but on what was billed as the ‘Queen’ stage of the race – with six climbs on the menu – Contador’s Saxo team failed to loosen the British race leader’s grip.


Contador ultimately failed to respond when Froome and Australian teammate Richie Porte upped the pace on the second and final ascension of the 13.8 km climb to the summit of the Alpe. The Spaniard, a two-time winner in 2007 and 2009, remains in second place but is now 5:11 behind. 

Froome, however, risks a sanction by race officials after he required emergency supplies from Porte as he suffered a hunger knock inside the final five kilometers of the race. Normally, feeding stops at the 20 km to go mark, and Froome – who signaled his need to his team car before Porte gave him a handful of power gels – admitted: “It was a difficult stage. When I signaled for help I needed sugar and I was thankful that Richie was there.” While Froome’s lead over Contador now looks unassailable, arguably the biggest beneficiary of the day was Colombian Nairo Quintana, who finished 2:09 behind Riblon having attacked Froome and Porte in the final kilometers alongside Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez of Katusha.


The Colombian’s efforts moved him up to third overall at 5:32, just 21sec behind Contador, and within sight of a podium finish in Paris on what is his maiden Tour. “I still haven’t won a stage yet but I’m very happy with my performance today,” said Quintana, who in the process tightened his grip on the white jersey for the best-placed rider aged 25 or under.

Riblon’s performance, however, will be warmly welcomed by the hosts who have struggled to make any impact in the 100th edition of the race. He began the climb over the Alpe’s famous 21 hairpin bends, where thousands of fans decked in colorful costumes added color and drama to the occasion, in the company of BMC’s Tejay Van Garderen. The American accelerated away from Riblon after only a couple of kilometers and despite taking a healthy lead the Frenchman did not give up. Encouraged by his sporting director in his team car, Riblon finally caught sight of Van Garderen inside the final three kilometers and when he caught up with a little more than a kilometer to race he left ‘TVG’ in his wake.


It was Riblon’s second mountaintop stage win on the race following his win at Ax-Trois-Domaines three years ago. “I can’t believe it! I didn’t think I was going to catch him, it was only my sporting director who kept me going, telling me that Tejay was going to crack,” said Riblon



1. Christophe Riblon (FRA/ALM) 4hr 51min 32sec

   2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) at 0:59s

   3. Moreno Moser (ITA/CAN) 1:27.

   4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 2:12.

   5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 2:15.

   6. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 3:18.

   7. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 3:18.

   8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 3:22.

   9. Mikel Nieve (ESP/EUS) 4:15.

   10. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 4:15.

   11. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) 4:15.

   12. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/SAX) 4:31.

   13. Michael Rogers (AUS/SAX) 4:45.

   14. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 4:49.

   15. Jos‚ Serpa Perez (COL/LAM) 5:18.

   16. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 5:40.

   17. Igor Anton (ESP/EUS) 5:40.

   18. John Gadret (FRA/ALM) 5:42.

   19. Alessandro De Marchi (ITA/CAN) 5:47.

   20. Bart De Clercq (BEL/LTB) 5:56.


 1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 71hr 02min 19sec

   2. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) at 5:11s

   3. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 5:32.

   4. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/SAX) 5:44.

   5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 5:58.

   6. Bauke Mollema (NED/BKN) 8:58.

   7. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 9:33.

   8. Michael Rogers (AUS/SAX) 14:26.

   9. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 14:38.

   10. Laurens ten Dam (NED/BKN) 14:39.

   11. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 14:56.

   12. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 16:24.

   13. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) 19:18.

   14. Maxime Monfort (BEL/RSH) 19:56.

   15. Mikel Nieve (ESP/EUS) 24:13.

   16. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 30:05.

   17. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 30:45.

   18. Andy Schleck (LUX/RSH) 31:19.

   19. Daniel Martin (IRL/GRM) 34:22.

   20. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 37:42.


Comments are closed.