2020 Tour de France Stage 18 Results — Former World Champ Takes the Win

Primoz Roglic retained his lead over compatriot Tadej Pogacar atop the Tour de France standings after stage 18 as British outfit Ineos claimed a one-two finish on Thursday. Bedevilled by problems that saw them withdraw their captain Egan Bernal on Wednesday, team-mate Michal Kwiatkowski won the stage as Richard Carapaz took the King of the Mountains jersey with the pair crossing the finish line three minutes ahead of the elite pack.

“I had the best legs ever, the way we rode together with Richard was just incredible,” said Ineos’s Polish rider who is a former world champion.

“When Egan left the race he was very sad but wished us well, and now we have this wonderful day,” he said.

“That’s the Tour de France,” he beamed.

In the race for the overall standings only Saturday’s individual time trial presents a chance for the second-placed Pogacar to stage a coup. Roglic leads Pogacar by 57 seconds with Friday’s stage 19 and the culminating run up the Champs-Elysees on Sunday both set to be decided in a mass bunch sprint.

Sage 17 solo winner Miguel Angel Lopez of Colombia is still third 1:27 off the lead but is less of a time-trialist than his rivals.


Primoz Roglic (SLO – Team Jumbo – Visma)


1  KWIATKOWSKI Michal INEOS Grenadiers 4:47:33
2  CARAPAZ Richard INEOS Grenadiers ,,
3  VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma 1:51
4  ROGLIC Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 1:53
5  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates ,,
6  PORTE Richie Trek – Segafredo 1:54
7  MAS Enric Movistar Team ,,
8  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – McLaren ,,
9  CARUSO Damiano Bahrain – McLaren ,,
10  DUMOULIN Tom Team Jumbo-Visma ,,


1  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 79:45:30
2  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 0:57
3  LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Pro Team 1:27
4  PORTE Richie Trek – Segafredo 3:06
5  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – McLaren 3:28
6  MAS Enric Movistar Team 4:19
7  YATES Adam Mitchelton-Scott 5:55
8  URÁN Rigoberto EF Pro Cycling 6:05
9  DUMOULIN Tom Team Jumbo-Visma 7:24
10  VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 12:12
Richard Carapaz (ECU – Team Ineos) – Michal Kwiatkowski (POL – Team Ineos)

An enthusiastic fan jumped crashed the celebration in the final meters to the finish line.

RBA/AFP Photo: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.