2020 Tour de France Stage 21 Results — Pogacar Triumphs in Paris

Slovenian rookie Tadej Pogacar won the Tour de France on Sunday, riding triumphantly into Paris in the race leader’s yellow jersey at just 21 years old. Pogacar became the Tour’s youngest champion since 1904 as Ireland’s Sam Bennett won the 21st and final stage after the eight-lap dash around the iconic Champs-Elysees to clinch the green sprint points jersey.

The Tour will forever be remembered for a dramatic last-gasp turnaround as Pogacar grabbed the overall lead when his rival Primoz Roglic suffered a mountainside meltdown on the penultimate day.

This storied edition of the century-old race packed with thrills and spills will be equally recalled for outsprinting the dark shadow of Covid-19. Starting two months late due to the global pandemic, the race set off under strict health guidelines in Nice with doubts it would make it all the way to Paris. But after over 2000 miles of intense racing the 146 remaining riders embarked Sunday for a parade of the winners until the hotly-disputed sprint in Paris.

The race was a triumph of organization after the French president gave them the green light to belatedly stage the event, although just 5,000 fans lined Sunday’s finish due to the health protocol.

Sam Bennett (IRL – Deceuninck – Quick Step) – Peter Sagan (SVK – Bora – Hansgrohe) – Mads Pedersen (DEN – Trek – Segafredo)



1  BENNETT Sam Deceuninck – Quick Step 2:53:32
2  PEDERSEN Mads Trek – Segafredo ,,
3  SAGAN Peter BORA – hansgrohe ,,
4  KRISTOFF Alexander UAE-Team Emirates ,,
5  VIVIANI Elia Cofidis, Credit Solutions ,,
6  VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma ,,
7  EWAN Caleb Lotto Soudal ,,
8  HOFSTETTER Hugo Israel Start-Up Nation ,,
9  COQUARD Bryan B&B Hotels – Vital Concept p / b KTM ,,
10  WALSCHEID Max NTT Pro Cycling ,,


1  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 84:26:33
2  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 0:59
3  PORTE Richie Trek – Segafredo 3:30
4  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – McLaren 5:58
5  MAS Enric Movistar Team 6:07
6  LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Pro Team 6:47
7  DUMOULIN Tom Team Jumbo-Visma 7:48
8  URÁN Rigoberto EF Pro Cycling 8:02
9  YATES Adam Mitchelton-Scott 9:25
10  CARUSO Damiano Bahrain – McLaren 14:03
Tadej Pogacar (SLO – UAE – Team Emirates) – Jan Polanc (SLO – UAE – Team Emirates)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.