Tadej Pogacar came out on top again after another heavyweight brawl with fellow Slovenian Primoz Roglic on Wednesday in the Tour of the Basque Country. The ride to Ermualde finished with three sharp climbs in the final 20 kilometers. On the last one, Pogacar, who rides for Team UAE, took the lead and was quickly joined by Roglic of Jumbo-Visma. The two Slovenians quickly dropped the rest of the star-studded leading group.

It was a renewal of the rivalry which went to the penultimate day of last year’s Tour de France, when Pogacar overtook his older countryman on the penultimate stage.

But when they started looking at each other rather than working together, some of the chasers briefly caught up.

After cresting the final climb, Pogacar attacked again. Only Roglic could go with him. But he could not stay with Pogacar as they sprinted for the line. Once again, Pogacar threw the final blow, turning to look Roglic in the face before punching the air as he crossed the line. Both men completed the 167.7km stage in 4:04:50.

They were chased home by 40-year-old Spaniard Alejandro Valverde of Movistar. He finished five seconds back in third with Briton Adam Yates of Ineos fourth in the same time. Roglic retained the overall lead but, with time bonuses, Pogacar cut the gap to 20 seconds and his American UAE team-mate Brandon McNulty is third a further 10 seconds back. Yates is fourth at 39 seconds.

Thursday’s stage four runs from Vitoria to Hondarribia, over 189 kilometers.

Tadej Pogacar (SLO – UAE Team Emirates) – Primoz Roglic (SLO – Jumbo – Visma)


1  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 4:04:50
2  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00
3  VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 0:05
4  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:05
5  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 0:05
6  GAUDU David Groupama – FDJ 0:08
7  KNOX James Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:16
8  VINGEGAARD Jonas Team Jumbo-Visma 0:16
9  VANSEVENANT Mauri Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:16
10  MCNULTY Brandon UAE-Team Emirates 0:18


1  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 8:07:48
2  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 0:20
3  MCNULTY Brandon UAE-Team Emirates 0:30
4  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:39
5  VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 0:50
6  VINGEGAARD Jonas Team Jumbo-Visma 0:54
7  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 1:00
8  BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 1:08
9  VANSEVENANT Mauri Deceuninck – Quick Step 1:09
10  SCHACHMANN Maximilian BORA – hansgrohe 1:09

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

racingroadtime trialresultsBrandon McNultyspainPrimoz Roglic2021AFP