Mikkel Honore of Deceuninck-QuickStep won stage five of the Tour of the Basque Country ahead of his teammate Josef Cerny on Friday as contenders for the overall title all finished together. The Deceuninck pair fist-bumped as they cruised to the line after a long break off the Basque coastline.

“I wish Cerny could be with me here on the podium,” Denmark’s Honore said.

“We treated it like a one-day race and the tactic paid off when we got away on the final climb,” he said, after he and his teammate beat the main pack by 28 seconds.

While there were no spectators at either the start or finish lines, there were clusters of passionate fans encouraging the riders on the regular inclines.

A post-lunch start for a relatively flat 160km run from the beachfront in Hondarribia provided the calm before the storm expected on Saturday’s big-gun, mountain-laden final day showdown.

The young American Brandon McNulty of UAE Team Emirates retains the overall leader’s yellow jersey, 23 seconds ahead of Jumbo’s Primoz Roglic. But the steep inclines, including a summit finish Saturday, will see McNulty tested to the limit, with an elbow-to-elbow contest between Roglic and his 2020 Tour de France nemesis Tadej Pogacar expected.

Brandon McNulty (USA – UAE Team Emirates) – Tadej Pogacar (SLO – UAE Team Emirates)


1  HONORÉ Mikkel Frølich Deceuninck – Quick Step 3:39:54
2  ČERNÝ Josef Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:00
3  BERNARD Julien Trek – Segafredo 0:17
4  IMPEY Daryl Israel Start-Up Nation 0:28
5  CLARKE Simon Team Qhubeka ASSOS 0:28
6  OLDANI Stefano Lotto Soudal 0:28
7  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 0:28
8  SIMON Julien Team Total Direct Energie 0:28
9  CORT Magnus EF Education – Nippo 0:28
10  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 0:28


1  MCNULTY Brandon UAE-Team Emirates 16:05:43
2  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 0:23
3  VINGEGAARD Jonas Team Jumbo-Visma 0:28
4  BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 0:36
5  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 0:43
6  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 1:02
7  BUCHMANN Emanuel BORA – hansgrohe 1:07
8  VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 1:13
9  IZAGIRRE Ion Astana – Premier Tech 1:15
10  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 1:23
Itzulia Basque Country 2021 – Tadej Pogacar (SLO – UAE Team Emirates) – Brandon McNulty (USA – UAE Team Emirates)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.