Ivan Sosa exploited the attention on his more famous Colombian compatriot and Ineos team-mate Egan Bernal on the final climb up snowy Mont Ventoux to win the third stage of the Tour de La Provence on Saturday.

Sosa finished 15 seconds ahead of 2019 Tour de France winner Bernal with the other big name in the four-day race, reigning world champion Julian Alaphilippe of Deceuninck-Quick-Step, another three seconds back at the end of a 153.9km ride from Istres.

The 23-year-old Sosa is 19 seconds ahead of Bernal and 21 seconds ahead of Frenchman Alaphilippe in the general classification heading into Sunday’s final stage, a 163.2km race from Avignon to Salon-de-Provence, which is likely to end in a mass sprint.

On a foggy forest road, Ineos exploited the attention on Bernal. The team set the pace at the front up the climb but then sent Sosa away with a little bit less than five kilometers to go.

Sosa quickly built a 20-second advantage, while Bernal marked Alaphilippe’s attacks.

“We were both leaders this morning, we thought that we would see when the time came, who would attack first”, said Sosa.

Bernal and Alaphilippe escaped from the pack with 3.5 km to go to fight out their anticipated duel.

Dutchman Wouter Poels (Bahrain) joined the two heavyweights briefly, but he was dropped with one kilometer to go.

Both stars made attacks, but Bernal landed the decisive punch with 500 meters to go.

Tour de la Provence 2021 – Julian Alaphilippe (FRA – Deceuninck – Quick-Step)


1  SOSA Iván INEOS Grenadiers 4:08:14
2  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 0:15
3  ALAPHILIPPE Julian Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:18
4  POELS Wout Bahrain – Victorious 0:29
5  HERRADA Jesús Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:48
6  CICCONE Giulio Trek – Segafredo 0:48
7  MOLLEMA Bauke Trek – Segafredo 0:48
8  VANSEVENANT Mauri Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:48
9  HAIG Jack Bahrain – Victorious 0:48
10  KONRAD Patrick BORA – hansgrohe 0:48
Tour de la Provence 2021 – Ivan Ramiro Sosa (COL – Ineos Grenadiers)


1  SOSA Iván INEOS Grenadiers 13:13:16
2  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 0:19
3  ALAPHILIPPE Julian Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:21
4  POELS Wout Bahrain – Victorious 0:39
5  MOLLEMA Bauke Trek – Segafredo 0:57
6  KONRAD Patrick BORA – hansgrohe 0:58
7  HAIG Jack Bahrain – Victorious 0:58
8  VANSEVENANT Mauri Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:58
9  HERRADA Jesús Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:58
10  VLASOV Aleksandr Astana – Premier Tech 0:58


RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.