Former world champion Mads Pedersen won the uphill sprint finish on stage 3 of Paris Nice. Pedersen out-sprinted Bryan Coquard and Wout Van Aert to take the win out of a reduced peloton that was split on the final categorized climb of the day. Fabio Jakobsen, Sam Bennett and Dylan Groenewegen were among the sprint favorites that lost out on the climb with 13 miles to go.

Christophe Laporte crashed in the final 300 meters after colliding with Kevin Geniets in the sprint but was quick to get up and remains in the lead of the race, one second ahead of his teammate Wout Van Aert. Stage four will present the first shake-up of the overall standings with an  8.6 mile individual time-trial from Domérat to Montluçon, ahead of the final four climbing stages of Paris-Nice.


1 Mads PEDERSEN Trek – Segafredo 4:23:29
2 Bryan COQUARD Cofidis 0:00
3 Wout VAN AERT Jumbo-Visma 0:00
4 Jasper PHILIPSEN Alpecin-Fenix 0:00
5 Anthony TURGIS TotalEnergies 0:00
6 Biniam GIRMAY HAILU Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00
7 Fred WRIGHT Bahrain – Victorious 0:00
8 Danny VAN POPPEL BORA – hansgrohe 0:00
9 Ethan HAYTER INEOS Grenadiers 0:00
10 Juan MOLANO UAE Team Emirates 0:00


1 LAPORTE Christophe Jumbo-Visma 11:34:44
2 VAN AERT Wout Jumbo-Visma 0:01
3 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 0:09
4 PEDERSEN Mads Trek – Segafredo 0:29
5 COQUARD Bryan Cofidis 0:33
6 LATOUR Pierre TotalEnergies 0:33
7 ŠTYBAR Zdeněk Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:38
8 STUYVEN Jasper Trek – Segafredo 0:39
9 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA – hansgrohe 0:39
10 SÉNÉCHAL Florian Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:39


Photos: ASO/ Alex Broadway

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.