Brandon McNulty won stage 5 of Paris Nice with an aggressive attack 24 miles from the finish. It was the 23-year-old American’s first WorldTour win. McNulty rode with an 18-man breakaway most of the stage until escaping mid-way up the category 1 Col de la Mure. Franck Bonnamour and Matteo Jorgensen finished 1:58 behind they breakaway companion to round out the podium. Jorgensen’s effort catapulted the 22-year-old American into the Best Young Rider jersey.

At the finish Jorgensen related McNulty’s effort and how the result came to be, “The shape was good coming into Paris-Nice, but then I had some bad luck and also bad positioning on my part in the echelons. I thought I was out of the GC, but with some good fortune I got back, and this jersey is a big honour. I had to try, that’s all we had now with the team. After talking with Brandon [McNulty] this morning, I knew he wanted to make the break. I thought it would go on the first big climb, but when I saw him on the move, I figured I had to go. We worked well together. I know how strong he is, we’ve been racing so much together. But you have to try your chance. He definitely was the strongest today. If I had gone his pace, I would have quickly exploded.”

Primoz Roglic moved into the overall lead, surpassing teammate Wout van Aert, Roglic sits 39 seconds ahead of Simon Yates and three other riders are within a minute of the Jumbo Visma rider. Three stages remain, stage 6 is the longest of the race at 133 miles with over 9000 feet of climbing.



1 MCNULTY Brandon UAE Team Emirates 4:53:30
2 BONNAMOUR Franck B&B Hotels – KTM 1:58
3 JORGENSON Matteo Movistar Team 1:58
4 VANHOUCKE Harm Lotto Soudal 2:30
5 PICHON Laurent Team Arkéa Samsic 4:01
6 TURGIS Anthony TotalEnergies 4:02
7 MADOUAS Valentin Groupama – FDJ 4:57
8 DOULL Owain EF Education-EasyPost 4:57
9 LATOUR Pierre TotalEnergies 5:43
10 PACHER Quentin Groupama – FDJ 5:43


1 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 16:50:28
2 YATES Simon Team BikeExchange – Jayco 0:39
3 LATOUR Pierre TotalEnergies 0:41
4 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe INEOS Grenadiers 0:56
5 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA – hansgrohe 0:59
6 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 1:11
7 KRAGH ANDERSEN Søren Team DSM 1:26
8 HAIG Jack Bahrain – Victorious 1:35
9 QUINTANA Nairo Team Arkéa Samsic 1:45
10 IZAGIRRE Ion Cofidis 2:01


Photos: ASO/ Alex Broadway

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.