Astana unveiled their 2022 line up on Friday as a rebranded a Astana Qazaqstan squad and with 15 changes on the roster featuring Italians Gianni Moscon and Vincenzo Nibali and Colombian climber Miguel Angel Lopez. It marks a new start for Moscon who joins after a checkered spell with Ineos where was involved in a series of scuffles and an alleged racist slur. With his relentless power and courage, Moscon was instrumental, however, in helping Egan Bernal to lift the Giro d’Italia in 2021 and came close to winning Paris-Roubaix in a dreadful race blighted by mud. Climb specialist Lopez has won stages on all three Grand Tours but also joins after a row, walking away from Movistar after a single season. While Nibali won the 2014 Tour de France in Astana’s colours and has won all three Grand Tours.

“We have managed to get a strong, ambitious team together,” said the team’s returning leader Alexandre Vinokourov.

The team said Qazaqstan was the correct way to write the name of their nation in English rather than Kazakhstan.

2022 Astana Qazaqstan Roster

Leonardo Basso (ITA)

Samuele Battistella (ITA)

Manuele Boaro (ITA)

Gleb Brussenskiy (KAZ)

Valerio Conti (ITA)

Stefan De Bod (RSA)

David De la Cruz (ESP)

Joe Dombrowski (USA)

Yevgeniy Fedorov (KAZ)

Fabio Felline (ITA)

Michele Gazzoli (ITA)

Yevgeniy Gidich (KAZ)

Dmitriy Gruzdev (KAZ)

Sebastian Henao (COL)

Miguel Angel Lopez (COL)

Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ)

Davide Martinelli (ITA)

Gianni Moscon (ITA)

Yuriy Natarov (KAZ)

Antonio Nibali (ITA)

Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)

Nurbergen Nurlykhassym (KAZ)

Vadim Pronskiy (KAZ)

Alexandr Riabushenko (BLR)

Javier Romo (ESP)

Harold Tejada (COL)

Simone Velasco (ITA)

Artyom Zakharov (KAZ)

Andrey Zeits (KAZ)

Sports Directors

Alexandr Shefer (KAZ)

Giuseppe Martinelli (ITA)

Dmitriy Fofonov (KAZ)

Bruno Cenghialta (ITA)

Sergey Yakovlev (KAZ)

Stefano Zanini (ITA)

Mario Manzoni (ITA)

RBA/AFP Photo: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.