Tour de France Team Announcement – Astana

Astana Select Fuglsang to Lead

(RBA/AFP) Photos: Bettini

Dane Jakob Fuglsang, the leader of the Astana team, will have the support of three compatriots in the Tour de France team announced by the Kazakh outfit on Friday. Magnus Cort and Jesper Hansen will make their Tour debuts when the race starts on July 7. The fourth Dane is Michael Valgren, winner of the Amstel Gold Race in April.

Amstel Gold Race 2018 – 53rd Edition – Maastricht – Berg en Terblijt 263 km – 15/04/2018 – Michael Valgren (DEN – Astana Pro Team) – Roman Kreuziger (CZE – Mitchelton – Scott) – Enrico Gasparotto (ITA – Bahrain – Merida) – photo Anton Vos/CV/BettiniPhoto©2018

Astana’s eight-man team also contains two Spaniards: breakaway specialist Omar Fraile, who will make his first Tour appearance aged 27, and Luis Leon Sanchez, a 34-year-old veteran who has won four stages on the race. Fuglsang, 33, was second in the recent Tour de Suisse. He has ridden the Tour de France seven times and his best overall finish was seventh in 2013.

Astana team for the Tour de France:

Jakob Fuglsang (DEN), Magnus Cort (DEN), Omar Fraile (ESP), Dmitriy Gruzdev (KAZ), Jesper Hansen (DEN), Tanel Kangert (EST), Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP), Michael Valgren (DEN)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.