Former Tour de France champion Egan Bernal will share leadership duties on his Giro d’Italia debut with Pavel Sivakov as part of an eight-man Ineos team announced Tuesday. Bernal, 24, is one of the favourites for the Giro and will also have Colombian compatriot Daniel Martinez for support in the three-week race which starts in Turin on Saturday.

Ineos selected three Italian riders, world time trial champion Filippo Ganna, Gianni Moscon and Salvatore Puccio.

Spain’s Jonathan Castroviejo and Jhonatan Narvaez of Ecuador complete the line-up for a team that has won two of the three past editions of the Giro.

Chris Froome triumphed in 2018 with Tao Geoghegan Hart taking victory last year.

Martinez won last season’s Criterium du Dauphine while Russia’s Sivakov came ninth at the Giro on his debut in 2019.

Criterium du Dauphine – Pavel Sivakov (RUS – Team Ineos) – Egan Bernal (COL – Team Ineos)

Ineos Giro d’Italia Team

Egan Bernal (COL)

Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP)

Filippo Ganna (ITA)

Daniel Martinez (COL)

Gianni Moscon (ITA)

Jhonatan Narvaez (ECU)

Salvatore Puccio (ITA)

Pavel Sivakov (RUS)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.