British sprinter Mark Cavendish won a second straight stage on the Tour of Turkey when he took the sprint in Alanya on Tuesday. The Deceuninck-Quick Step rider also tightened his grip on the overall lead with the bonus seconds for winning the stage.

The previous day, the 35-year-old rider won for the first time since 2018 when he took the second stage sprint. He had to wait barely 24 hours for his next victory.

Cavendish and one of his old sprint rivals, 38-year-old German Andre Greipel of Israel Start Up Nation, opened the sprint, shoulder to shoulder. Belgian Jasper Philipsen of Alpecin-Fenix and Pole Stanislaw Aniolkowski of Bingoal-Pauwels overtook Greipel but could not catch Cavendish. Cavendish finished the 212.6km ride from Beysehir, the longest of the race, in 5:10:30.

Philipsen was second in the same time and is eight seconds behind the Manxman in the overall standings.

Wednesday’s relatively flat stage four will take the riders from Alanya to Kemer (184.4km).


1  CAVENDISH Mark Deceuninck – Quick Step 5:10:30
2  PHILIPSEN Jasper Alpecin-Fenix 0:00
3  ANIOŁKOWSKI Stanisław Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB 0:00
4  HALVORSEN Kristoffer Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00
5  GREIPEL André Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00
6  BELLETTI Manuel EOLO-Kometa 0:00
7  DE KLEIJN Arvid Rally Cycling 0:00
8  TAMINIAUX Lionel Alpecin-Fenix 0:00
9  GROSU Eduard-Michael DELKO 0:00
10  LONARDI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 0:00


1  CAVENDISH Mark Deceuninck – Quick Step 10:03:14
2  PHILIPSEN Jasper Alpecin-Fenix 0:08
3  DE KLEIJN Arvid Rally Cycling 0:10
4  HALVORSEN Kristoffer Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:14
5  GREIPEL André Israel Start-Up Nation 0:16
6  ANIOŁKOWSKI Stanisław Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB 0:16
7  BARBIER Pierre DELKO 0:16
8  ZAKHAROV Artyom Astana – Premier Tech 0:17
9  BRAVO Garikoitz Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:17
10  DE BIE Sean Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB 0:17

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

2021Jasper PhilipsenracingProMark CavendishroadAndre GreipelresultsFabio Jakobsen