Ineos Grenadiers’s Dylan Van Baarle gambled on a 50km solo break to win cycling’s Dwars door Vlaanderen on  Wednesday rampaging over more than a dozen hills and tricky cobbled roads. Also known as the ‘Race Around Flanders’ the 180km race is a precursor to the Tour Of Flanders on Sunday, and many of the contenders for the event competed in the sunshine through the lush-green fields here.

Dutchman Van Baarle broke with 52km to go with most of the 13 hills still  ahead of him.

His relenteless effort was of such power the peloton, including world champion Julain Alaphilippe and Matthieu van der Poel, eventually gave up the chase.

The usual start line at a bustling and carnivalesque downtown market square was replaced with the Roselare football stadium on the outskirts of town due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Annemiek van Vleuten won the women’s race earlier in the day beating Katia Niewiadoma in a long range sprint after the pair had been involved in a breakaway.


1 VAN BAARLE Dylan INEOS Grenadiers 3:58:59
2 LAPORTE Christophe Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:26
3 MERLIER Tim Alpecin-Fenix 0:26
4 LAMPAERT Yves Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:26
5 VAN DER SANDE Tosh Lotto Soudal 0:26
6 KRISTOFF Alexander UAE-Team Emirates 0:26
7 VAN AVERMAET Greg AG2R Citroën Team 0:26
8 TURGIS Anthony Team Total Direct Energie 0:26
9 SÉNÉCHAL Florian Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:26
10 STUYVEN Jasper Trek – Segafredo 0:26
Dwars door Vlaanderen 2021 – Greg Van Avermaet (BEL – AG2R Citroen Team)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.