Frenchman Arnaud Demare won a mass sprint for the line on the Giro d’Italia on Friday after the peloton caught an escape group just ahead of the home straight on stage 13. Demare narrowly edged Phil Bauhaus and Mark Cavendish to the line while Spaniard Juan Pedro Lopez held on to the leader’s pink jersey. On a short 93 mile run, only half the distance of the Milan-San Remo one-day classic, four riders opened a six-minute gap they only let slip in the final mile setting up the sprint. This was Demare’s third stage win at this year’s Giro and it extends his lead in the sprint points race.

“It was a monstrous leadout,” said the winner.

“They really resisted at the front,” he said.

The 30-year-old also won consecutive sprint finishes in the first week, leaving him on 238pts, while Cavendish is second on 121.

After showing strong form at the Giro, French climber Romain Bardet pulled out on Friday complaining of feeling sick.

The 31-year-old DSM man was fourth place in the standings heading into the mountainous final week of the 21-day race where he would likely have thrived. Along with Ineos leader Richard Carapaz and Bahrain Victorious’ Mikel Landa, Bardet was a credible pretender to win this Giro. Lopez will do well to survive in pink any further with Joao Almeida and Carapaz at 12sec in the overall, and a clutch of others lurking within a minute of the lead.

“Some guys will try to make a difference but I will do 100 percent and we’ll see what happens,” Lopez said after the race.

Saturday’s treacherous hilly stage should shake up the standings, while Sunday’s mountain climb is a slog to a summit finish at over 5000 feet at Cogne in the Aosta Valley north of Turin.

Giro d'Italia Stage 13 Results
Arnaud Demare (FRA – Groupama – FDJ) – Fernando Gaviria (COL – UAE Team Emirates) – Mark Cavendish (GBR – Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) – Phil Bauhaus (GER – Bahrain Victorious)


1 DÉMARE Arnaud Groupama – FDJ 3:18:16
2 BAUHAUS Phil Bahrain – Victorious 0:00
3 CAVENDISH Mark Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00
4 GAVIRIA Fernando UAE Team Emirates 0:00
5 DAINESE Alberto Team DSM 0:00
6 CONSONNI Simone Cofidis 0:00
7 DE BONDT Dries Alpecin-Fenix 0:00
8 NIZZOLO Giacomo Israel – Premier Tech 0:00
9 VENDRAME Andrea AG2R Citroën Team 0:00
10 BAYER Tobias Alpecin-Fenix 0:00


1 LÓPEZ Juan Pedro Trek – Segafredo 54:37:23
2 CARAPAZ Richard INEOS Grenadiers 0:12
3 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 0:12
4 HINDLEY Jai BORA – hansgrohe 0:20
5 MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis 0:28
6 LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 0:29
7 POZZOVIVO Domenico Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:54
8 BUCHMANN Emanuel BORA – hansgrohe 1:09
9 BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 1:22
10 VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 1:23


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.