Giulio Ciccone won the 15th stage of the Giro d’Italia on Sunday after a solo attack on the final climb of the 110 mile run between Rivarolo Canavese and Cogne. Trek-Segafredo rider Ciccone was part of a small breakaway group which contained no general classification contenders and finished well ahead of closest rider Santiago Buitrago after making his move just under 12 miles from the finish line. It was a third Giro stage win for the 27-year-old, who burst away from Hugh Carthy and Buitrago with the trio on the ascent to the summit finish in Cogne in the Aosta Valley. Ciccone was the winner of the mountains classification of the 2019 edition of the Italian Grand Tour.

On a quiet day for the general classification, overall leader Richard Carapaz stayed in the main peloton, which contained all the main contenders and was several minutes back when Ciccone crossed. Ineos rider Carapaz took over the pink jersey in Saturday’s 14th stage.


1 Giulio CICCONE Trek – Segafredo 4:37:41
2 Santiago BUITRAGO Bahrain – Victorious 1:31
3 Antonio PEDRERO Movistar Team 2:19
4 Hugh CARTHY EF Education-EasyPost 3:09
5 Martijn TUSVELD Team DSM 4:36
6 Luca COVILI Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 5:08
7 Natnael TESFATSION Drone Hopper – Androni Giocattoli 5:27
8 Bauke MOLLEMA Trek – Segafredo 5:27
9 Gijs LEEMREIZE Jumbo-Visma 5:27
10 Guillaume MARTIN Cofidis 6:06


1 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 63:06:57
2 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 0:07
3 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 0:30
4 Mikel LANDA Bahrain – Victorious 0:59
5 Domenico POZZOVIVO Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 1:01
6 Pello BILBAO Bahrain – Victorious 1:52
7 Emanuel BUCHMANN BORA – hansgrohe 1:58
8 Vincenzo NIBALI Astana Qazaqstan Team 2:58
9 Juan LÓPEZ Trek – Segafredo 4:04
10 Guillaume MARTIN Cofidis 8:02


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

GIRO D'ITALIA 2022 RESULTSGIRO D'ITALIA 2022 STANDINGSWh won stage 15 of the Giro d'Italia?GIRO D'ITALIA 2022 STAGE 15 RESULTSGIRO D'ITALIA 2022 STAGE 15GIRO D'ITALIA STAGE 15 RESULTSGiro dItaliaGiulio CicconeRichard CarapazGiro d'Italia 2022Who won the Giro d'Italia?