Dutch rider Koen Bouwman won a mountainous stage 19 of the Giro d’Italia with a sprint finish climb to Santuario di Castelmonte on Friday. Ecuador’s 2019 Giro winner Richard Carapaz of Ineos held onto the overall leader’s pink jersey two days before the race finishes in Verona, maintaining a three-second advantage on Australian Jai Hindley. Bouwman beat his four breakaway companions in a bumpy finale for his second stage after Potenza in southern Italy two weeks ago. Quick Step’s Mauro Schmid of Switzerland was just behind with Italian Alessandro Tonelli of Bardiani three seconds off the pace.

Carapaz survived the setback of losing his key mountain lieutenant Richie Porte early in the 110 mile stage which included three climbs and crossed into neighboring Slovenia. Ineos Grenadiers rider Porte was dropped from the peloton on the first climb of the day, the third-category Villanova Grotte, after 43 miles of racing. Organizers confirmed the 37-year-old Australian had dropped out of the Giro, which finishes in Verona on Sunday. A 12-man breakaway approached the main climb of the day, the Kolovrat over 6 miles long and with a 9.2 percent gradient, with more than nine minutes on the peloton. The four survivors only lost a little over a minute on this climb near Caporetto, the site of an historic defeat for the Italians in the First World War.

Saturday’s 20th stage, the final summit finish, includes three great climbs of the Dolomites, the San Pellegrino, the Pordoi for the highest point of this year’s race at 7300 feet above sea level concluding at the Fedaia, with a
spectacular steep climb in the last 3 miles. Sunday’s final stage is a 10.8 mile individual time-trial into Verona where Ecuadorian Carapaz claimed overall victory three years ago.


1 Koen BOUWMAN Jumbo-Visma 4:32:55
2 Mauro SCHMID Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00
3 Alessandro TONELLI Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 0:03
4 Attila VALTER Groupama – FDJ 0:06
5 Andrea VENDRAME AG2R Citroën Team 0:10
6 Tobias BAYER Alpecin-Fenix 2:45
7 Guillaume MARTIN Cofidis 3:49
8 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 3:56
9 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 3:56
10 Mikel LANDA Bahrain – Victorious 3:56


1 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 81:18:12
2 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 0:03
3 Mikel LANDA Bahrain – Victorious 1:05
4 Vincenzo NIBALI Astana Qazaqstan Team 5:53
5 Pello BILBAO Bahrain – Victorious 6:22
6 Jan HIRT Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 7:15
7 Emanuel BUCHMANN BORA – hansgrohe 8:21
8 Domenico POZZOVIVO Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 12:55
9 Juan LÓPEZ Trek – Segafredo 15:29
10 Hugh CARTHY EF Education-EasyPost 17:10


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.