Veteran Mark Cavendish won stage three of the Giro d’Italia on Sunday after launching a long sprint for the line at the end of a flat 122 mile run to Lake Balaton in Hungary. Dutch ace Mathieu van der Poel retained the overall leader’s pink jersey as Quick-Step’s Cavendish easily outpaced FDJ’s Arnaud Demare with Team UAE’s Fernando Gaviria coming third. It was a 16th stage win on the Giro for the 36-year-old Cavendish who is riding the Italian grand tour after a nine-year break.

“It’s never easy to win the first stage of a grand tour because it’s so chaotic,” Cavendish said.

“I’m happy, I love the Giro and racing here, so it’s great to be back.

“I’m not very young anymore, I’m usually in gear after four to five days, but at the end of the day I’m still the old Cavendish.”

He is the joint record holder for stage wins in the Tour de France after he defied the odds with a return to form in 2021 when he won four stages. Australian sprinter Caleb Ewan failed to produce, possibly still suffering from his stage one fall in Visegrad.

In the overall standings Van der Poel leads Briton Simon Yates by 11 seconds and the 2017 Giro champion Tom Dumoulin is third at 15 seconds.

The race and its remaining peloton of 175 riders switches to Italy fromTuesday for the fourth stage that involves a long, steep climb up Mount Etna.

“I should be able to keep the lead as far as Etna, beyond that I can’tsay,” Van der Poel said.


1 CAVENDISH Mark Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 4:56:39
2 DÉMARE Arnaud Groupama – FDJ 0:00
3 GAVIRIA Fernando UAE Team Emirates 0:00
4 GIRMAY Biniam Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00
5 MARECZKO Jakub Alpecin-Fenix 0:00
6 THEUNS Edward Trek – Segafredo 0:00
7 CONSONNI Simone Cofidis 0:00
8 EWAN Caleb Lotto Soudal 0:00
9 DAINESE Alberto Team DSM 0:00
10 BAUHAUS Phil Bahrain – Victorious 0:00


1 VAN DER POEL Mathieu Alpecin-Fenix 9:43:50
2 YATES Simon Team BikeExchange – Jayco 0:11
3 DUMOULIN Tom Jumbo-Visma 0:16
4 SOBRERO Matteo Team BikeExchange – Jayco 0:24
5 KELDERMAN Wilco BORA – hansgrohe 0:24
6 TULETT Ben INEOS Grenadiers 0:24
7 FOSS Tobias Jumbo-Visma 0:28
8 MOLLEMA Bauke Trek – Segafredo 0:28
9 BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 0:29
10 SCHMID Mauro Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:29


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.