Frenchman Arnaud Demare of the FDJ team won stage five of the Giro d’Italia in a sprint finish along the seafront at the port of Messina, Sicily, on Tuesday ahead of Team UAE’s Fernando Gaviria. It was the powerfully built sprinter’s seventh stage win at the Giro, the 30-year-old punched the air as he zipped over the line with after a dizzyingly fast finish on a half-mile-long home straight.

“We know what we are capable of but we had to be patient,” said Demare, who was second to Cavendish on stage three.

The Giro’s two big-name sprinters Mark Cavendish and Caleb Ewan fell off the pace on the Portella Mandrazzi mountain ay 4000 foot altitude halfway into the 108 mile race from Catania on which Demare was also dropped, but only briefly.

“My team got me back in touch on the descent. Then we went to the front and set the pace,” he said.

After the mountain, some of the sprint teams forged an alliance of fortune at the head of the peloton to ensure stage three winner Cavendish and his main rival Ewan fought a losing battle to catch up.

Juan Pedro Lopez of Trek-Segafredo retained the overall leader’s pink jersey and British climber Simon Yates remained the top-placed rider from the favorites after his astonishing time-trial win in Hungary.


1 Arnaud DÉMARE Groupama – FDJ 4:03:56
2 Fernando GAVIRIA UAE Team Emirates 0:00
3 Giacomo NIZZOLO Israel – Premier Tech 0:00
4 Davide BALLERINI Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00
5 Biniam GIRMAY Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00
6 Phil BAUHAUS Bahrain – Victorious 0:00
7 Alberto DAINESE Team DSM 0:00
8 Natnael TESFATSION Drone Hopper – Androni Giocattoli 0:00
9 Edward THEUNS Trek – Segafredo 0:00
10 Simone CONSONNI Cofidis 0:00


1 Juan LÓPEZ Trek – Segafredo 18:21:03
2 Lennard KAMNA BORA – hansgrohe 0:39
3 Rein TAARAMÄE Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:58
4 Simon YATES Team BikeExchange – Jayco 1:42
5 Mauri VANSEVENANT Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 1:47
6 Wilco KELDERMAN BORA – hansgrohe 1:55
7 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 1:58
8 Pello BILBAO Bahrain – Victorious 2:00
9 Richie PORTE INEOS Grenadiers 2:04
10 Romain BARDET Team DSM 2:06


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.