Australian Jai Hindley won the first tough mountain stage of the Giro d’Italia on Sunday as Spain’s Juan Pedro Lopez just about held the overall leader’s pink jersey. Bora rider Hindley edged big guns Romain Bardet, Richard Carapaz and Mikel Landa to the line, while British rider Simon Yates lost over 11 minutes on the final, steep 8.5 mile climb to Blockhaus, in the Abruzzo region. With the Giro heading into a rest day on Monday, Lopez leads UAE’s Joao Almeida by 12 secondswith Bardet at 14, Carapaz 15, Hindley 20 and Landa 29 seconds adrift.

Carapaz’s Ineos team set the pace on this ninth stage where the riders got to the Blockhaus mountain after five sizzling hours in the saddle for a 8.5 mile test at 8.4 percent gradient. The peloton was whittled down finally to six riders coming to the summit and a photo finish was needed to separate winner Hindley from Carapaz in second and Bardet third on the day.

“There was a right hander before the finish with around 200m to go. I wanted to take the corner first and gave it everything to the line – and here we are,” the 2020 Giro runner up Hindley explained at the line.

Frenchman Bardet regretted the finale. “The result is hard to accept because I made a big error at the last corner,” he said.

Simon Yates was in trouble even before the climb and now appears that his hopes at a GC result are over.


1 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 5:34:44
2 Romain BARDET Team DSM 0:00
3 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 0:00
4 Mikel LANDA Bahrain – Victorious 0:00
5 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 0:00
6 Domenico POZZOVIVO Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:03
7 Emanuel BUCHMANN BORA – hansgrohe 0:16
8 Vincenzo NIBALI Astana Qazaqstan Team 0:34
9 Alejandro VALVERDE Movistar Team 0:46
10 Thymen ARENSMAN Team DSM 0:58


1 Juan LÓPEZ Trek – Segafredo 37:52:01
2 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 0:12
3 Romain BARDET Team DSM 0:14
4 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 0:15
5 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 0:20
6 Guillaume MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis 0:28
7 Mikel LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 0:29
8 Domenico POZZOVIVO Domenico Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:54
9 Emanuel BUCHMANN BORA – hansgrohe 1:09
10 Pello BILBAO Bahrain – Victorious 1:22


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.