Italy’s Filippo Ganna won the opening stage of the Giro d’Italia for the second straight year on Saturday, powering  to victory in the 5.5 mile time-trial through Turin. World time-trial champion Ganna again pulled on the leader’s pink jersey after finishing nearly 10 seconds faster than compatriot Edoardo Affini of Jumbo-Visma in the race against the clock.

Ineos rider Ganna, a native of the Piedmont province in north-western Italy,  won all the three time-trials in the race last year which took place in October due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Joao Almeida of Deceuninck-Quick Step was fourth on the stage behind Norwegian Tobias Foss setting the best time for the candidates for overall victory, 17 seconds behind Ganna.

Almeida’s Belgian teammate Remco Evenepoel finished seventh on his return to competition nine months after plunging into a ravine during the Tour of Lombardy in Italy last August.

Race favorites Simon Yates of Britain and Colombian Egan Bernal both finished one-second apart but 20 seconds adrift Almeida, who finished fourth in the Giro last year.

Sunday’s second stage is also in Piedmont, covering 111 miles between Stupinigi near Turin to Novara remains relatively flat over the Italian plains which should suit the sprinters.


1 GANNA Filippo INEOS Grenadiers 8:47
2 AFFINI Edoardo Team Jumbo-Visma 0:10
3 FOSS Tobias Team Jumbo-Visma 0:13
4 ALMEIDA João Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:17
5 CAVAGNA Rémi Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:18
6 VAN EMDEN Jos Team Jumbo-Visma 0:18
7 EVENEPOEL Remco Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:19
8 WALSCHEID Max Team Qhubeka ASSOS 0:19
9 BRÄNDLE Matthias Israel Start-Up Nation 0:22
10 MOSCON Gianni INEOS Grenadiers 0:23


RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.