World champion Julian Alaphilippe galvanized his team to reel in an escape in the final mile before surging ahead himself to win stage two of the Tour of the Basque Country on Tuesday. Jumbo’s Primoz Roglic retains the overall lead on Alaphilippe’s Quick Step teammate Remco Evenepoel established in Monday’s individual time-trial. The largely flat 129 mile stage ran through Rioja vineyards on a bright day with the peloton reluctant to race too fast with four hilly and mountain stages coming up.

“The other teams were reluctant to roll so we had to do a lot of work ourselves,” explained Alaphilippe, whose lead out train was headed by Evenepoel.

“We’re really happy with the win,” said the Frenchman who skipped the recent Flanders cobbled classics.

It had appeared that an early breakaway would make it to the finish line first but the last of the four men, Aguilar Gaina, was overtaken an agonizing 400m from the line. There is likely to be a shake up during stage three’s hilly run from Laudio to Amurrio on Wednesday.


1 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 5:04:35
2 DOUBEY Fabien TotalEnergies 0:00
3 HERMANS Quinten Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00
4 HOULE Hugo Israel – Premier Tech 0:00
5 AULAR Orluis Caja Rural – Seguros RGA 0:00
6 MARTÍN Gotzon Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:00
7 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:00
8 GAUDU David Groupama – FDJ 0:00
9 EVENEPOEL Remco Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00
10 VAN GILS Maxim Lotto Soudal 0:00



1 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 5:14:23
2 EVENEPOEL Remco Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:05
3 CAVAGNA Rémi Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:16
4 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 0:18
5 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:18
6 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA – hansgrohe 0:18
7 ARMIRAIL Bruno Groupama – FDJ 0:20
8 IZAGIRRE Ion Cofidis 0:20
9 VINGEGAARD Jonas Jumbo-Visma 0:20
10 TULETT Ben INEOS Grenadiers 0:21


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.