Local rider Pello Bilbao gave home fans something to cheer about when his late burst won a hilly third stage of the Tour of the Basque Country on Wednesday. Slovenian Primoz Roglic retained the overall lead finishing coolly in the midst of the elite group, who broke from the main peloton on a mountain 15 miles from the finish. Basque rider Bilbao, of Bahrain-Victorious, overtook world champion and stage two winner Julian Alaphilippe of Quick-Step in final meters of an uphill sprint for the line at the end the 112 mile hilly run to win the stage by half a wheel.

“It’s impossible to describe what it’s like to win at home, at last, after so many efforts. And then to do that by beating world champion Julian Alaphilippe in a sprint. It’s just incredible,” said the winner.

Frenchman Alaphilippe said his legs were sore.

“I went just a bit too early, but my legs were hurting so much and Pello was really strong.”

Russian rider Aleksandr Vlasov of Bora-Hansgrohe came third, while British hope Adam Yates of Ineos suffered a mechanical problem in the run in and missed the hotly contested finale. Defending champion Roglic established his slender lead on the opening day time-trial, a discipline in which the Jumbo rider is Olympic champion. Quick-Step youngster Remco Evenepoel is second at 5 seconds while Vlasov is third at 14 seconds. The day’s winner Bilbao is fifth at 19 seconds.

Thursday’s fourth stage is another hilly affair before the two concluding mountain stages of Friday and Saturday.


1 BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 4:35:24
2 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:00
3 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA – hansgrohe 0:00
4 GAUDU David Groupama – FDJ 0:00
5 MAS Enric Movistar Team 0:00
6 LATOUR Pierre TotalEnergies 0:00
7 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 0:00
8 IZAGIRRE Ion Cofidis 0:00
9 VINGEGAARD Jonas Jumbo-Visma 0:01
10 URÁN Rigoberto EF Education-EasyPost 0:01



1 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 9:49:47
2 EVENEPOEL Remco Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:05
3 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA – hansgrohe 0:14
4 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:18
5 BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 0:19
6 VINGEGAARD Jonas Jumbo-Visma 0:19
7 IZAGIRRE Ion Cofidis 0:20
8 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe INEOS Grenadiers 0:21
9 LATOUR Pierre TotalEnergies 0:25
10 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:28


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.