Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne set the table for a promising 2022 Classics season with an exciting finale won by Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl’s Fabio Jakobsen. Jakobsen out-sprinted the Lotto Soudal leadout in the final 300 meters to beat Caleb Ewan on the line with a bike throw.

Throughout the day, the 121-mile race was led by a breakaway which was whittled down to three riders including, Christophe Laporte, Taco van der Hoorn and Jhonatan Navarez. The trio hung out in front of the peloton with a 10 second gap for 6 miles with victory seemingly in reach until being caught within the final 100 meters.

It was the fifth victory in eleven starts for Jakobsen, following early success in the Volta Algarve and Volta Communitat Valencia.


1 JAKOBSEN Fabio Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 4:32:13
2 EWAN Caleb Lotto Soudal 0:00
3 HOFSTETTER Hugo Team Arkéa Samsic 0:00
4 MCLAY Daniel Team Arkéa Samsic 0:00
5 NIZZOLO Giacomo Israel – Premier Tech 0:00
6 VAN GESTEL Dries TotalEnergies 0:00
7 CAPIOT Amaury Team Arkéa Samsic 0:00
8 LAPORTE Christophe Jumbo-Visma 0:00
9 TRENTIN Matteo UAE Team Emirates 0:00
10 VAN DER HOORN Taco Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00


Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.