Milano-Sanremo – Wout van Aert’s Stunning Two-Peat

The young Belgian shocks the crowd with another win


Belgium’s Wout Van Aert won a sprint finish to clinch the Milan-San Remo, his first victory in one of cycling’s ‘Monument’ classic races on Saturday.

The Jumbo-Visma rider pipped last year’s winner Julian Alaphilippe of France on the line after the gruelling 305km race in hot and sunny conditions through north-western Italy. Van Aert crossed the finish line on the Italian Riviera after 7hrs 16min and 09sec in the saddle, just a week after winning his first major one-day race, the Strade Bianche, in Tuscany.

Australian Michael Matthews of Team Sunweb finished third, two seconds behind the leading pair, with Slovak Peter Sagan, of Bora-Hansgrohe, in fourth. “It’s unbelievable to win Milan-San Remo after Strade Bianche,” said 25-year-old Van Aert. “On the Poggio (hill), I was at the limit. Alaphilippe attacked earlier than I expected and I couldn’t hold his wheel so I had to go and chase him
down. He played it very well. Luckily I just had enough power left to beat him
on the line. It’s a beautiful restart of the season for me.”

The race was six kilometers longer than normal to avoid the city of Alessandria, 190km east of San Remo, which had been hit by heavy thunderstorms in recent days. Seven Italian riders built up an early advantage in a race which had been postponed for five months because of the coronavirus pandemic. The peloton picked up heading into the final 36km, where the race resumed
its classic course.

Alaphilippe suffered a puncture on the Cipressa climb, the penultimate difficulty of the race. The French rider ignited the attack on the Poggio, the last ascent, at the threshold of the final six kilometers. But Van Aert, who had been trailing four seconds behind the Deceuninck-Quick Step rider, hit back on the downhill with the pair battling it out until the line.

The Belgian was able to position himself on the foot of the climb with the three-time cyclo-cross world champion holding on to emulate Alaphilippe, who also won the Strade Bianche and Milan-Sanremo last year.

1. Wout Van Aert (BEL/JUM) 7hr 16min 09sec (average: 41.9km/h), 2. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/DEC) same time, 3. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) at 02sec, 4. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) 02, 5. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/NTT) 02, 6. Dion Smith (NZL/MIT) 02, 7. Alex Aranburu (ESP/AST) 02, 8. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/CCC) 02, 9. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/LOT) 02, 10. Matej Mohoric (SLO/BAH) 02
15. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/INE) 02, 23. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/TRE) 02, 39. Elia Viviani (ITA/COF) 1:24

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.


OR, Submit you name below for contest entry ONLY!

Contest Details