Yes, There’s Still Bike Racing: Paris-Nice Stage 5 Results

Breakaway ambitions to the final meters

Italy’s Niccolo Bonifazio won the fifth stage of the Paris-Nice race Thursday, edging to victory in a final sprint.

Germany’s Maximilian Schachmann retains the leader’s yellow jersey with three days to go in a race that has survived widespread postponements and cancellations of major sporting events caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

Powering towards the line, Bonifazio, 26, who rides for Total Direct Energie, managed to overtake Slovenia’s Jan Tratnik, lone survivor of a group who broke away from the main pack soon after the start of the 227km stage, the longest in this year’s race.

In second place behind the Italian was Ivan Garcia Cortina of Spain with Slovakia’s Peter Sagan third.

Friday’s sixth stage is a 161.5km hilly run from Sorgues to Apt in the Luberon region.

Jan Tratnik (SLO – Bahrain – McLaren) – Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA – Team Total Direct Energie) – Hugo Hofstetter (FRA – Israel Start-Up Nation)

“When the bunch was about to reach the escapee in the final straight I found myself a bit boxed in. Bonifazio had space, timed his sprint well and took the victory. I would have liked to finish the day with a win but I did my best. On the other hand, we were successful in our GC goals and both Felix and Max didn’t lose any seconds which was important today.” – Peter Sagan

“Today was the longest stage of this year’s race, and actually also one of the hardest. The first 120km or so were not particularly difficult, with the tempo not being so demanding. However, the final 15km, with the constant attacks, were really hard and very fast. However, the guys supported me in these moments really well, and like over the past few days, did a fantastic job. Peter took another podium place, and we didn’t lose any time in the general classification, so we’re coming ever closer to our goal here.” – Maximilian Schachmann


1. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA/Total DE) 5:18:02

2. Ivan Garcia Cortina (ESP/BAH) same time

3. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) s.t.

4. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/ARK) s.t.

5. Hugo Hofstetter (FRA/ISR) s.t.

6. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA/CWG) s.t.

7. John Degenkolb (GER/LOT) s.t.

8. Elia Viviani (ITA/COF) s.t.

9. Bryan Coquard (FRA/BBH) s.t.

10. Marc Sarreau (FRA/FDJ) s.t.

Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA – Team Total Direct Energie) – Peter Sagan (SVK – Bora – Hansgrohe) – Nacer Bouhanni (FRA – Team Arkea Samsic)


1. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/BOR) 18:49:00

2. Soeren Kragh Andersen (EN/SUN) at 58

3. Felix Grossschartner (AUT/BOR) 1:01

4. Nils Politt (GER/ISR) 1:05

5. Sergio Higuita (COL/EF1) 1:06

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.