Dylan van Baarle crossed the Roubaix velodrome finish line solo to win Paris Roubaix 2022. With just under 18 miles to go Yves Lampaert and Matej Mohoric drifted off the front of an elite chase group of riders including Mathieu van der Poel and Wout van Aert. The duo joined race leader Tom Devriendt and were quickly caught by an alert Dylan van Baarle. Seven riders continued to chase the four leaders but dangled by nearly 40 seconds for miles.

With 13 miles to go the chaser began anxiously attacking to close the gap until Trek Segafredo’s Jasper Stuyven, FDJ’s Stefan Kung and Jumbo Visma’s Wout van Aert began to bear down on the lead group. Stuyven flatted out of the group leaving the duo with an unsurmountable 30 second gap to the leaders.

With 11 miles to go Dylan van Baarle headed into the Carrefour as the sole leader with an eight second lead over Mohoric and Lampaert. Over the next two cobbled sectors van Baarle pushed his lead out to 12 seconds. With 6 miles to go the gap was 25 seconds, a mile later than gap was nearly a minute. With just under 5 miles to go a spectator reached out into the road striking Lampaert, causing  the Belgian to lose control and hit the floor. In the city of Roubaix with 2 miles and a celebratory cobbled sector remaining, Van Baarle had victory all but secured but continue to push the gap with a 1:20 lead. Van Baarle waived as he pedaled around the velodrome to win the 119th edition of Paris Roubaix


1 Dylan VAN BAARLE INEOS Grenadiers 5:37:00
2 Wout VAN AERT Jumbo-Visma 1:47
3 Stefan KÜNG Groupama – FDJ 1:47
4 Tom DEVRIENDT Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 1:47
5 Matej MOHORIČ Bahrain – Victorious 1:47
6 Adrien PETIT Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 2:27
7 Jasper STUYVEN Trek – Segafredo 2:27
8 Laurent PICHON Team Arkéa Samsic 2:27
9 Mathieu VAN DER POEL Alpecin-Fenix 2:34
10 Yves LAMPAERT Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 2:59


Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.