Schwag Bag Saturday Giveaway

Comment on our latest Instagram post for your chance to win

Welcome to Road Bike Action’s Swag Bag Saturday, this week we’ll be awarding the first correct comment on the latest post on our Instagram page to the question below  an exclusive RBA Schwag Bag.

Who will win the upcoming edition of Liege-Bastogne-Liege on Sunday April 28th? 

Courtesy Liege Bastogne Liege:

LBL marks the end of the spring classics campaign. Its place as the grand finale of this part of the season only makes victory in the center of Liège more prestigious and desirable. It could also encapsulate all the battles that have taken place on the roads of France, Belgium, Spain and Italy, where the riders who will animate the race on Sunday have already racked up victories and top placings.

Among them are the two champions who stole the show on the Mur de Huy yesterday, Julian Alaphilippe and Jakob Fuglsang, who are leading the charge in the Ardennes for the most prolific teams of the 2019 season so far: Deceuninck–Quick-Step with 25 victories and Astana with 22. By taking his second win in the Flèche Wallonne, the Frenchman who has been dominating the classics season has consolidated his position as the odds-on favorite, but his victory was narrow enough to spark speculation that fatigue is starting to set in, as Alaphilippe himself is ready to admit: “I’m starting to feel tired, I’ve spent a lot since the start of the season”.

Despite losing to his nemesis several times (Tirreno–Adriatico, Strade Bianche and Flèche Wallonne), Jakob Fuglsang has closer than ever before to winning a top-flight classic… and the peculiarities of the Old Lady could well play into his hands in a new showdown with “Alaf”.

However, Alaphilippe and Fuglsang will not be facing a two-man duel, but a pitched battle featuring even more contenders than on the Chemin des Chapelles in Huy. Among the men who showed no real signs of weakness, several riders could go on the attack on Côte de la Redoute, on La Roche-aux-Faucons and in the streets of the Ardent City, including young German rider Maximilian Schachmann (5th in Huy), stepping up to the plate after his leader Peter Sagan decided not to take part, as well as Michael Matthews (8th), Enrico Gasparotto (10th), world champion Alejandro Valverde (11th), who has still got an ace or two up his sleeve, Romain Bardet (13th), Dylan Teuns (14th), Michał Kwiatkowski (16th) and former winner Wout Poels (22nd).

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya 2019 – 99th Edition – Michael Matthews (AUS – Team Sunweb) – Alejandro Valverde (ESP – Movistar Team) – photo Bettini

Others sat out the Flèche Wallonne to save themselves for Liège, including Vincenzo Nibali, as cunning as ever, as well as Tom Dumoulin, Greg Van Avermaet and Lilian Calmejane. They all share the same dream: to conquer the Old Lady.

Road Bike Action Instagram

25 teams, main contenders


Mitchelton–Scott: Yates (GBR) and Albasini (CHE)


Bahrain–Merida: Nibali (ITA) and Teuns (BEL)


Deceuninck–Quick-Step: Alaphilippe (FRA), Gilbert (BEL) and Mas (ESP)

Lotto–Soudal: Vanendert, Wellens and Lambrecht (BEL)

Sport Vlaanderen–Baloise: Van Gestel (BEL)

Wanty–Groupe Gobert: G. Martin (FRA) and Eiking (NOR)

Wallonie Bruxelles: Jules (FRA)


Ag2r–La Mondiale: Bardet, Cosnefroy and Vuillermoz (FRA)

Groupama–FDJ: Gaudu, Molard and Madouas (FRA)

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Simon (FRA) and J. Herrada (ESP)

Total Direct Énergie: Calmejane, Hivert and Grellier (FRA)

Arkéa–Samsic: Gesbert and Ledanois (FRA)

Vital Concept–B&B Hotels: Vichot and Gautier (FRA)


Team Sunweb: Dumoulin (NLD) and Matthews (AUS)

Bora–Hansgrohe: Schachmann (DEU)


Astana Pro Team: Fuglsang (DNK) and Lutsenko (KAZ)


Jumbo–Visma: Gesink and Tolhoek (NLD)


CCC Team: Van Avermaet (BEL) and Ten Dam (NLD)

South Africa

Team Dimension Data: Valgren (DEN), Gasparotto (ITA) and Slagter (NED)


Movistar Team: Valverde, Landa (ESP) and Quintana (COL)


Katusha-Alpecin: Zakarin (RUS)

United Arab Emirates

UAE Team Emirates: Martin (IRL) and Ulissi (ITA)

United Kingdom 

Team Sky: Kwiatkowski (POL), Poels (NED) and De la Cruz (ESP)

United States

EF Education First: Martínez (COL) and Woods (CAN)

Trek–Segafredo: Gogl (AUS) and Felline (ITA)


La Flèche Wallonne 2019 –  Mur de Huy – Julian Alaphilippe (FRA – Deceuninck – Quick Step) – Jakob Fuglsang (DEN – Astana Pro Team) – photo: Bettini


Visit our Instagram and comment on our latest post to win

Conditions: Comment must be made before the race starts Sunday April 28th at 1:00 am PST , shipping to U.S. only.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.