Pavel Sivakov warmed up for the Vuelta a Espana with victory in the Vuelta a Burgos on Saturday as Joao Almeida took the fifth and final stage at Laguna de Neila. It is the 25-year-old’s third success in a stage race after his victories in 2019 in the Tour of the Alps and the Tour of Poland. It is also marks a first win since Sivakov, who previously competed as a Russian rider, was permitted to race as a French rider in March following Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine. Sivakov, of the Ineos Grenadiers team, was born in Italy but has been resident in France since he was one year old and holds Russian and French passports.

“I’m very happy. I didn’t think I would win, even though I knew I was in excellent condition,” said Sivakov.

“It’s been a long time since I won, so for me it is a great satisfaction and gives me a lot of confidence. I needed this.”

As Almeida went on the attack, Ineos controlled their response on the climbs and enabled the Frenchman to finish third in the final stage. Sivakov secured his first stage-race win in three years, ending 35 seconds ahead of both Team UAE Emirates’ Almeida, who was second overall, and Astana’s Colombian Miguel Angel Lopez, who was second in the stage and third in the general classification.

Siakov’s victory, added to his second-place behind Remco Evenepoel in last week’s San Sebastian Classic, means he is likely to head to the Vuelta alongside Richard Carapaz and possibly Ethan Hayter and Tao Geoghegan Hart.

“I don’t yet know the final selection for the Vuelta, which should be made next week by the team,” said Sivakov.

“We’ll see if I’m part of it, otherwise we will talk about what my calendar will include.”

Burgos marked a second success in two days for Ineos following British rider Hayter’s victory in the Tour of Poland.

Joao Almeida takes the final stage win ahead of Miguel Angel Lopez.


1 Pavel SIVAKOV INEOS Grenadiers 19:00:23
2 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 0:35
3 Miguel Angel LÓPEZ Astana Qazaqstan Team 0:35
4 Carlos RODRÍGUEZ INEOS Grenadiers 0:41
5 Ilan VAN WILDER Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:42
6 Ruben GUERREIRO EF Education-EasyPost 0:47
7 Jai HINDLEY BORA – hansgrohe 0:52
8 Santiago BUITRAGO Bahrain – Victorious 1:06
9 Wilco KELDERMAN BORA – hansgrohe 1:09
10 Kenny ELISSONDE Trek – Segafredo 1:18


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.