Frenchman Florian Senechal outsprinted a reduced field to win stage 13 of the Vuelta a Espana on Friday after his Deceuninck Quick Step teammate Fabio Jakobsen failed to keep pace in the run in due to a flat tyre. Senechal was part of Jakobsen’s lead out team and won the stage ahead of Italian pair Matteo Trentin and Alberto Dainese with Norway’s Odd Christian Eiking retaining the overall lead. Ineos leader Egan Bernal also sprung a small surprise to gain a few seconds on his overall rivals when he managed to keep up with the front as the rest of the peloton got dropped in a late split.

On a sizzling day with temperatures tipping towards 98F a headwind and a fast closing space caused several fissures in the peloton. So much so that the Belgian outfit leading the peloton actually dropped their own sprinter Jakobsen as 15 riders broke away in the final mile at a roundabout.

“We did a perfect lead-out for Fabio and he said on the radio he had a flat tire or something and said ‘Florian you can sprint’,” Senechal said.

“It’s crazy. I am lucky today and I am very happy for my family, friends and my wife.”

Green jersey sprint points leader Jakobsen was aiming for his third stage win here and took maximum points at the day’s intermediate sprint just 3 miles outside town.

The weekend’s action should see a change in the lead and even a shake up in the overall standings as it provides two huge mountain challenges with two category 1 climbs on both Saturday and Sunday.



1  SÉNÉCHAL Florian Deceuninck – Quick Step 4:58:23
2  TRENTIN Matteo UAE-Team Emirates 0:00
3  DAINESE Alberto Team DSM 0:02
4  MEZGEC Luka Team BikeExchange 0:03
5  DEWULF Stan AG2R Citroën Team 0:03
6  ALLEGAERT Piet Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:03
7  EINHORN Itamar Israel Start-Up Nation 0:03
8  SOTO Antonio Jesús Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:03
9  OLIVEIRA Rui UAE-Team Emirates 0:03
10  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 0:06


1  EIKING Odd Christian Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 50:31:52
2  MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:58
3  ROGLIC Primoz Team Jumbo-Visma 1:56
4  MAS Enric Movistar Team 2:31
5  LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Movistar Team 3:28
6  HAIG Jack Bahrain – Victorious 3:55
7  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 4:41
8  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 4:57
9  KUSS Sepp Team Jumbo-Visma 5:03
10  GROSSCHARTNER Felix BORA – hansgrohe 5:38


Florian Senechal (FRA – Deceuninck – Quick-Step)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.