Magnus Cort Nielsen of EF-Nippo won his third stage on the Vuelta a Espana on Friday as he and six other escapees defied a speeding peloton by 20 seconds after a hilly stage 19 run into Galicia. Overall leader Primoz Roglic retains the red jersey with just two days left including Sunday’s individual time-trial, a discipline in which he is Olympic champion. Danish cyclist Nielsen also won stages six and 12 and joins Roglic and green jersey holder Fabio Jakobsen in a clique who have won three times on this 2021 Vuelta.

“Having three from the same Tour, that’s unbelievable,” said Nielsen who thanked his teammate Lawson Craddock who was in the breakaway with him.

“I think winning stage six on that mountain was my favorite because we don’t really have mountains in Denmark,” he said.

This hilly 118.5 mile run from Tapia to Monfort de Lemos in Galicia featured 10,500 feet of elevation and after a long struggle 11 riders escaped the main pack in a fast paced race.

In the relative cool of the lush green hills of this norther-western region, far from the sizzling south where temperatures hit 100 Fahrenheit on the Costa del Sol, a reduced peloton of 35 tried but ultimately failed to reel in the day’s escape.

“Believe me they made it hard for us, it wasn’t easy in this hilly terrain,” said Nielsen.

“It’s amazing, I didn’t start believing until the last 3 miles.”

Jakobsen has an unassailable lead in the sprint points dash for the green jersey while Egan Bernal looks certain to mount the podium for the best under-25’s white jersey.




1  CORT Magnus EF Education – Nippo 4:24:54
2  OLIVEIRA Rui UAE-Team Emirates 0:00
3  SIMMONS Quinn Trek – Segafredo 0:00
4  BAGIOLI Andrea Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:00
5  ROUX Anthony Groupama – FDJ 0:00
6  KRON Andreas Lotto Soudal 0:00
7  CRADDOCK Lawson EF Education – Nippo 0:05
8  DAINESE Alberto Team DSM 0:18
9  TRENTIN Matteo UAE-Team Emirates 0:18
10  KRIEGER Alexander Alpecin-Fenix 0:18


1  ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 77:49:37
2  MAS Enric Movistar Team 2:30
3  LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Movistar Team 2:53
4  HAIG Jack Bahrain – Victorious 4:36
5  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 4:43
6  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 5:44
7  KUSS Sepp Team Jumbo-Visma 6:02
8  MÄDER Gino Bahrain – Victorious 7:48
9  MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 8:31
10  DE LA CRUZ David UAE-Team Emirates 9:24


Lawson Craddock (USA – EF Education – Nippo)

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.