The Classics Fact File

The Classics are upon us.

Here is a list of last year’s winners and record winners of the Spring Classics, which begin on Sunday with Milan-San Remo:

Milan-San Remo (March 22)
Champion: Alexander Kristoff (NOR)
Most wins: Eddy Merckx (BEL) 7

E3 Harelbeke (March 27)
Champion: Peter Sagan (SVK)
Most wins: Tom Boonen (BEL) 5

Ghent-Wevelgem (March 29)
Champion: John Degenkolb (GER)
Most wins: Robert Van Eenaeme (BEL), Rik Van Looy (BEL), Eddy Merckx (BEL), Mariuo Cipolini (ITA), Tom Boonen (BEL) 3

Tour of Flanders (April 5)
Champion: Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
Most wins: Achiel Buysse (BEL), Fiorenzo Magni (ITA), Eric Leman (BEL), Johan Museeuw (BEL), Tom Boonen (BEL), Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 3

Paris-Roubaix (April 12)
Champion: Niki Terpstra (NED)
Most wins: Roger De Vlaeminck (BEL), Tom Boonen (BEL) 4

Amstel Gold (April 19)
Champion: Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
Most wins: Jan Raas (NED) 5

Fleche Wallonne (April 22)
Champion: Alejandro Valverde (ESP)
Most wins: Marcel Kint (BEL), Eddy Merckx (BEL), Moreno Argentin (ITA), Davide Rebellin (ITA) 3

Liege-Bastogne-Liege (April 26)
Champion: Simon Gerrans (AUS)
Most wins: Eddy Merckx (BEL) 5

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.