Mads Wurtz Schmidt won the sixth stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico on Monday as Tour de France champion Tadej Pogacar kept his grip on the overall lead at this year’s ‘Race of the Two Seas’. Wurtz Schmidt took the honours at Lido di Fermo on Italy’s Adriatic coast after finishing a sprint at the head of a small group which broke away from the peloton early on in the 169km stage and maintained their lead until the finish line.

The 25-year-old completed the penultimate stage of the race in 3:42:09 to claim his first ever win on the World Tour.

“I am extremely happy, after five years as a pro rider I’ve finally managed to win in the World Tour,” he said after crossing the line.

He charged home ahead of Lotto rider Brent Van Moer, home hope Simone Velasco, Jan Bakelants and Movistar’s Nelson Oliveira.

That group crossed the line over a minute ahead of the peloton, which contained the contenders for overall victory.

UAE rider Pogacar maintains his 1:15 lead over Wout van Aert in the general classification ahead of Tuesday’s final stage, a 10.1km individual time-trial at San Benedetto del Tronto.

Mikel Landa sits three minutes behind Slovenian Pogacar, while 2019 Tour de France winner Egan Bernal is fourth, a further 30 seconds back.

Tirreno Adriatico 2021 – Tadej Pogacar (SLO – UAE Team Emirates)


1  WÜRTZ SCHMIDT Mads Israel Start-Up Nation 3:42:09
2  VAN MOER Brent Lotto Soudal 0:00
3  VELASCO Simone Gazprom – RusVelo 0:00
4  BAKELANTS Jan Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:00
5  OLIVEIRA Nelson Movistar Team 0:00
6  LIEPIŅŠ Emīls Trek – Segafredo 0:25
7  MERLIER Tim Alpecin-Fenix 1:09
8  BALLERINI Davide Deceuninck – Quick Step 1:09
9  VIVIANI Elia Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 1:09
10  KANTER Max Team DSM 1:09


1  POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 26:24:59
2  VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma 1:15
3  LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 3:00
4  BERNAL Egan INEOS Grenadiers 3:30
5  FABBRO Matteo BORA – hansgrohe 3:54
6  WELLENS Tim Lotto Soudal 4:30
7  ALMEIDA João Deceuninck – Quick Step 4:42
8  BARDET Romain Team DSM 5:03
9  NIBALI Vincenzo Trek – Segafredo 5:54
10  YATES Simon Team BikeExchange 6:58

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.