Tour Colombia 2020 Stage 3 Results

Make it two in a row

Sprinter Juan Sebastian Molano won his second successive stage at the Tour Colombia on Thursday as Tour de France champion Egan Bernal finished safely in the peloton. UAE Team Emirates’ Molano beat compatriots Edwin Avila and Alvaro Hodeg into second and third at the end of the 178km stage from Paipa to Sogamoso at
an average altitude of 2,600m. Ecuador’s Jonathan Caicedo retained the leader’s orange jersey after finishing in the pack.

It was a ninth victory already this year for UAE.

“The team has a lot of faith in me and the truth is we never had any doubts,” said Molano, who moved up to fifth in the overall standings thanks to a time bonus for wining the stage.

“I tried to launch my sprint as close to the line as possible, not so far out like yesterday because these stages … are tough,” the 25-year-old Colombian told ESPN.

Molano also won Wednesday’s 152km stage two in another sprint finish.

Tour Colombia 2020 – 3rd Edition – Juan Sebastian Molano (COL – UAE – Team Emirates)

Caicedo remains atop the overall standings with three team-mates level with him on time — Colombians Sergio Higuita and Daniel Martinez, who are expected to challenge for the final victory, and American Tejay van Garderen.

Their American EF Pro Cycling squad won Tuesday’s opening team time-trial. But having lost 46 seconds on the opening stage, Bernal’s Team Ineos tried to spring a surprise on Thursday, sending Sebastian Henao into the day’s break.

That was caught 16km from the finish but then Ecuadoran Giro d’Italia champion Richard Carapaz tried to steal a march on the sprinters by launching a solo attack one kilometer from the finish.

“Tomorrow we’ll be more vigilant that such escapes don’t happen,” said Caicedo.

Bernal, 23, who won the inaugural Colombian tour two years ago, vowed to attack again on Friday.

“If we have men we’ll try something to make the race exciting,” he said.

“We’re racing in Colombia, you race differently and we’re testing how to race here so that the fans can enjoy it. We’re going to attack the leaders.”

Friday’s fourth stage from Paipa to Santa Rosa de Viterbo covers 168km and ends with a third category climb, meaning the overall contenders should come to the fore.

The entire six-day tour is raced at above 2,500m with Sunday’s finale ending on the climb to the Puerto de El Verjon at 3,290m.


1. Juan Sebastian Molano (COL) UAE Team Emirates 3hrs 57min 00sec

2. Edwin Avila (COL) Israel Start-up same time

3. Alvaro Hodeg (COL) Deceuninck-QuickStep s.t.

4. Julian David Molano (COL) Colombia National team s.t.

5. Jhonatan Restrepo (COL) Androni Giocattoli s.t.

6. Umberto Marengo (ITA) Vini Zabu-KTM s.t.

7. Bert Van Lerberghe (BEL) Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.

8. Travis McCabe (USA) Israel Start-up s.t.

9. Richard Carapaz (ECU) Team Ineos s.t.

10. Idar Andersen (NOR) Uno-X Norwegian Dev Team) s.t.

Selected others:
21. Egan Bernal (COL) Team Ineos s.t.

86. Fabio Aru (ITA) UAE EmiratesTeam s.t.

112. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck-Quick Step at 1:14


1. Jonathan Caicedo (ECU) EF Pro Cycling 7:27:10

2. Sergio Higuita(COL) EF Pro Cycling s.t.

3. Daniel Martinez (COL) EF Pro Cycling s.t.

4. Tejay van Garderen (USA0 EF Pro Cycling s.t.

5. Juan Sebastisn Molano (COL)UAE Team Emirates 40

6. Bert Van Lerberghe (BEL) Deceuninck-Quick Step 45

7. Jannik Steimle (GER) Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.

8. Richard Carapaz (ECU) Team Ineos 46

9. Egan Bernal (COL) Team Ineos s.t.

10. Jhonnatan Narvaez (COL) Team Ineos s.t.

Selected others:

20. Fabio Aru (ITA) UAE Team Emirates 1:00

81. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck-Quick Step 2:22


RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.