Tour de France 2019 Team Preview : Deceuninck Quick Step

Philippe Gilbert gets the flick

Paris-Roubaix winner Philippe Gilbert will not compete in next month’s Tour de France after failing to make his Deceuninck team.

The eight-man roster is built around French rider Julian Alaphilippe, winner of two Tour stages and winner of the mountains classification in 2018, Italian sprinter Elia Viviani and Spaniard Enric Mas, who finished second in last year’s Vuelta.

“It’s with much sadness I have to say I won’t take part in this year’s Tour,” said the 36-year-old Gilbert, winner of one stage on the Grande Boucle back in 2011. “After my fall and early exit last year, I was very motivated to come back this year. It would have been my 10th Tour, but unfortunately I’ll have to delay  those plans.”


Deceuninck team for the Tour de France

  • Julian Alaphilippe (FRA)
  • Kasper Asgreen (DEN)
  • Dries Devenyns (BEL)
  • Yves Lampaert (BEL)
  • Enric Mas (ESP)
  • Michael Morkov (DEN)
  • Maximiliano Richeze  (ARG)
  • Elia Viviani (ITA)


Julian Alaphilippe (FRA – Deceuninck – Quick Step)

Photo: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.