Tour de France 2018 Recap and Results: Stage 1

Quickstep set up Gaviria for the sprint, claim yellow

Photos: Bettini
Video: Le Tour de France

Fernando Gaviria of Quick Step became the first Colombian to win a bunch sprint of the Tour de France and the second Colombian to take the yellow jersey, fifteen years after Victor Hugo Peña, as he outclassed Peter Sagan in Fontenay-le-Comte. The finish was reached at the fastest expected speed but not without damage for the favorites as Chris Froome, Richie Porte, Adam Yates and Nairo Quintana lost a significant amount of time in crashes and mechanicals.

 Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ) was the first big name to crash but there was more to come with Chris Froome (Sky), Richie Porte (BMC) and Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) being other victims in the last 5km. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) had a mechanical with 3.4km to go. They couldn’t make it back to the pack before the finish where Gaviria benefited from a perfect lead out by Quick Step to win the bunch gallop against Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe).

Tour de France 2018 – 105th Edition – 1st stage – Fernando Gaviria (COL – QuickStep – Floors)

Gaviria was left thrilled after his impressive stage win on his very first Tour de France, achieved after he outlasted world champion Sagan in a long struggle down an 800 meter home straight with Kittel, who won four stages on the 2017 Tour, leaving his bid too late and coming third.

“I just said to myself ‘go’ and had the legs luckily,” Gaviria said. “What an amazing day, nobody is happier than me.

“The team did amazing. Tomorrow I’ll be in yellow and try and keep it as long as possible.” The Colombian added: “I don’t know about keeping the yellow jersey because of the mountains, but I plan to fight for the green jersey (sprint points) all the way to Paris.”



Final Stage Results

1.Fernando Gaviria – Quickstep Floors

2. Peter Sagan – Bora Hansgrohe

3. Marcel Kittel – Katusha Alpecin

Final Overall Standings

1. Fernando Gaviria (COL/Etixx) 4hr 23 min 22 sec

2. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) at 4sec

3. Marcel Kittel (GER/KAT) 6.

4. Oliver Naesen (BEL/ALM) 9.

5. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/EAU) 10.

6. Christophe Laporte (FRA/COF) 10.

7. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/LNL) 10.

8. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) 10.

9. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) 10.

10. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 10.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.


OR, Submit you name below for contest entry ONLY!

Contest Details