Tour de France 2018 Recap and Results: Stage 8

Groenewegen wins another stage

RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Dutch ace Dylan Groenewegen sprinted to a second straight win on stage eight of the Tour de France on Saturday, edging Andre Greipel and Fernando Gaviria only for the second and third-placed riders to be disqualified for being too physical. Fourth-placed Peter Sagan was moved up to second with fifth-placed John
Degenkolb promoted to third after a thrilling but rough sprint.

Overall leader Greg Van Avermaet of BMC held on to the yellow jersey for a sixth day and most of the other leading contenders, including Chris Froome, Romain Bardet, Vincenzo Nibali, Nairo Quintana and Richie Porte came home safely in the peloton.

The 25-year-old Groenewegen, who rides for the Dutch Lotto team, flew out of the pack on France’s July 14 national holiday to leave Greipel, Gaviria and Sagan trailing in his wake after making his move at the last moment and showing for a second time that he has refound his form and above all his confidence. “I didn’t see what happened behind me and can’t comment on the decision,” said the Dutch rider who also won Friday’s seventh stage to join Sagan and Gaviria with two wins each from the first eight days’ racing.

Two riders who had a tough time of it were Dan Martin and Julian Alaphilippe, after a mass fall 17km from the line. Martin of UAE Team Emirates lost around a minute to his title rivals. After the fall Martin, who won stage six on Thursday at the Mur-de-Bretagne, was bleeding from the elbow and had a ripped hole showing blood on his back. Quick-Step’s Alaphilippe, who started the day in fourth in the GC, crossed
the line with Martin, wincing in pain as he rode.

Final Stage 8 Results

1. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/LNL) 181.0 km in 4hr 23min 36sec
2. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) at 0sec.
3. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) 0.
4. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/EAU) 0.
5. Arnaud Démare (FRA/FDJ) 0.
6. Thomas Boudat (FRA/DEN) 0.
7. Nikias Arndt (GER/SUN) 0.
8. Mark Cavendish (GBR/DDT) 0.
9. Yves Lampaert (BEL/QST) 0.
10. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA/WGG) 0.
11. Daniel Oss (ITA/BOR) 0.
12. Timothy Dupont (BEL/WGG) 0.
13. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 0.
14. Taylor Phinney (USA/EFD) 0.
15. Marcel Kittel (GER/KAT) 0.
16. Dion Smith (NZL/WGG) 0.
17. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0.
18. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 0.
19. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) 0.
20. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/QST) 0.
21. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0.
22. Laurent Pichon (FRA/FST) 0.
23. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 0.
24. Soren Kragh Andersen (DEN/SUN) 0.
25. Daniele Bennati (ITA/MOV) 0.
26. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 0.
27. Damiano Caruso (ITA/BMC) 0.
28. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0.
29. Egan Bernal (COL/SKY) 0.
30. Edward Theuns (BEL/SUN) 0.
31. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) 0.

Final Overall Standings

 1. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 32hr 43min 00sec
2. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) at 7sec.
3. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 9.
4. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 16.
5. Bob Jungels (LUX/QST) 22.
6. Rigoberto Uran (COL/EFD) 49.
7. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 55.
8. Rafal Majka (POL/BOR) 56.
9. Jakob Diemer Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 57.
10. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 57.
11. Mikel Landa (ESP/MOV) 59.
12. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) 1:06.
13. Adam Yates (GBR/MIT) 1:06.
14. Soren Kragh Andersen (DEN/SUN) 1:07.
15. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 1:12.
16. Primoz Roglic (SLO/LNL) 1:21.
17. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 1:22.
18. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 1:26.
19. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) 1:27.
20. Steven Kruijswijk (NED/LNL) 1:30.
21. Egan Bernal (COL/SKY) 1:34.
22. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 1:49.
23. Warren Barguil (FRA/FST) 2:01.
24. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 2:06.
25. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/BAH) 2:12.
26. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 2:14.
27. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EFD) 2:17.
28. Jon Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 2:26.
29. Mikel Nieve (ESP/MIT) 2:37.
30. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOR) 2:40.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.


OR, Submit you name below for contest entry ONLY!

Contest Details