Tour de France Report, Stage 21

Photo: Bettini

Chris Froome won his third Tour de France as German Andre Greipel claimed Sunday’s 21st and final stage on the Champs Elysees in Paris. Froome, who was also champion in 2013 and last year, finished ahead of Frenchman Romain Bardet in second and Nairo Quintana of Colombia in third.

For Greipel, who pipped world champion Peter Sagan on the line with  Alexander Kristoff third, it was a second successive victory on the final stage and 11th stage win in total. Froome crossed the line, as he has done before, arm-in-arm with his Sky teammates stretched out across the road, clad in a special kit in which their usual blue stripe was replaced by a yellow one.

Such was the ease of this, Froome’s most dominant victory yet, that he could even afford to trundle home, losing time to his nearest challengers, safe in the knowledge he had started the day with more than four minutes to play with. In a typically frantic sprint finish, Greipel timed his charge to perfection.

He took Kristoff’s wheel and darted out at the right time to save his Tour. Having won four stages last year, he had yet to taste victory this time until Sunday as Mark Cavendish, who quit the race to focus on the Olympics earlier this week, dominated the  prints, winning four stages. Sagan, typically finished fastest but he left his push a fraction too late and failed to add to his three stage wins this year — his best return at the Tour. Yet he still won the sprinters’ green points jersey, for the fifth year in
a row, at a canter.


Yellow jersey – Chris Froome (GBR) Team Sky
Green points jersey – Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo
Polkadot mountains jersey – Rafal Majka (POL) Tinkoff-Saxo
White young riders jersey – Adam Yates (GBR) Orica-Bike Exchange
Team overall – Movistar (ESP)
Super-combativity award – Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo


1. Andre Greipel (GER/LOT) 113.0 km in 2hrs 43min 08sec
2. Peter Sagan (SVK/TIN) at 0:00.
3. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 0:00.
4. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) 0:00.
5. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) 0:00.
6. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 0:00.
7. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/CAN) 0:00.
8. Christophe Laporte (FRA/COF) 0:00.
9. Sam Bennett (IRL/BOA) 0:00.
10. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA/DDT) 0:00.
11. Davide Cimolai (ITA/LAM) 0:00.
12. Daniel McLay (GBR/FVC) 0:00.
13. Leigh Howard (AUS/IAM) 0:00.
14. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/ETI) 0:00.
15. Anthony Roux (FRA/FDJ) 0:00.
16. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA) 0:00.
17. Ramon Sinkeldam (NED/GIA) 0:00.
18. Sep Vanmarcke (BEL/LNL) 0:00.
19. Michael Andersen (DEN/TIN) 0:00.
20. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:00.

Final Overall
1. Chris Froome (GBR/Sky) 89 hrs 4 mins 48 secs.
2. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) at 2:52.
3. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:08.
4. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 3:29.
5. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 4:04.
6. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 5:03.
7. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 6:58.
8. Louis Meintjies (RSA/LAM) 6:58.
9. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) 7:04.
10. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 7:11.
11. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 13:13.
12. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 18:51.
13. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 19:20.
14. Sebastien Reichenbach (SWI/FDJ) 24:59.
15. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 28:31.
16. Pierre Rolland (FRA/CAN) 30:42.
17. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 38:30.
18. Stef Clement (NED/IAM) 38:57.
19. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/IAM) 38:59.
20. Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA/ALM) 42:28.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.


OR, Submit you name below for contest entry ONLY!

Contest Details