Tour de France Report, Stage 9


Chris Froome saw his rivals start to whittle away as Tom Dumoulin won the ninth stage of the Tour de France on Sunday. A stage that began under a blistering sun and temperatures reaching 41 Celsius in Spain ended in Dantesque conditions with driving rain and even hail in Andorra.
   Dumoulin attacked on his own from a breakaway group on the 10km hors category climb to the finish at Arcalis following a 184.5km trek through the Pyrenees. Portugal’s Rui Costa took second 38sec back with Rafal Majka of Poland

   Race leader Froome came home more than six minutes later alongside four rivals for the yellow jersey. But two-time former winner Alberto Contador was not among them having abandoned the race 80km into the stage. Having injured his entire right side in crashes on the opening two stages, and woken up on Sunday morning with a virus, Contador was forced into quitting the Tour early for the second time in three years.

Briton Adam Yates started and finished the day second overall as he crossed the line alongside Froome to maintain his lofty position.
Only Colombian climber Nairo Quintana, Australian former team-mate of Froome’s, Richie Porte, and Ireland’s Dan Martin managed to stay with the race leader in the final few kilometERs of the stage, after Froome accelerated. Yates is 16sec back from Froome with Martin third at 19sec and Quintana fourth at 23sec. Porte is outside the top 10 due to time he lost on the second stage after suffering a late puncture.

    A 20-man breakaway escaped on the first climb of the day and gradually built up a lead of more than 10 minutes.Frenchman Thibaut Pinot and Majka were part of the group and set about battling for king of the mountains points over the five categorised climbs of
the day. Pole Majka had started the day with a one-point advantage over Pinot, but the Frenchman finished it in the polka dot jersey with a three-point lead after coming sixth on the stage.He had the edge over Majka on every climb until the finish.   World champion Peter Sagan closed in on green points jersey wearer Mark
Cavendish by taking honours at the intermediate sprint before Thomas De Gendt accelerated clear at the top of a second category climb. However, on the following first category climb, De Gendt was quickly caught and immediately dropped by a select group of eight better climbers from the breakaway.

That was the climb where Froome’s Sky team started to crank up the pressure in the peloton, which duly thinned steadily. Only 35 riders were still in the peloton by the time it reached the final 10km-long hors category climb to the finish. Up front Dumoulin took advantage of some hesitancy in the breakaway to strike out alone.

Having sweated through Spain, the riders were met by an autumnal downpour in Andorra. Finally, Froome accelerated halfway up the climb and the race was on with Quintana sticking to his wheel. Porte came through to have a dig, as did Martin, but the top five all
finished together as Italy’s Fabio Aru, Romain Bardet of France and American Tejay Van Garderen all lost time.


   1. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 5hr 16min 24sec
2. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) at 0:38.
3. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 0:38.
4. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) 1:39.
5. Winner Anacona (COL/MOV) 1:57.
6. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 2:30.
7. George Bennett (NZL/LNL) 2:48.
8. Diego Rosa (ITA/AST) 2:52.
9. Mathias Frank (SUI/IAM) 3:44.
10. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 6:35.
11. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 6:35.
12. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 6:35.
13. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 6:37.
14. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) 6:37.
15. José Herrada Lopez (ESP/MOV) 6:37.
16. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 6:56.
17. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 6:56.
18. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 6:56.
19. Louis Meintjies (RSA/LAM) 6:56.
20. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 6:56.
 1. Chris Froome (GBR/Sky) 44hr 36min 03sec
2. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) at 0:16.
3. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) 0:19.
4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:23.
5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:37.
6. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:44.
7. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 0:44.
8. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 0:44.
9. Louis Meintjies (RSA/LAM) 0:55.
10. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:01.
11. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:01.
12. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 1:16.
13. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 1:23.
14. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 2:10.
15. Warren Barguil (FRA/GIA) 2:51.
16. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 3:20.
17. Pierre Rolland (FRA/CAN) 4:01.
18. Sébastien Reichenbach (SWI/FDJ) 5:22.
19. Wilco Kelderman (NED/LNL) 5:28.
20. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/KAT) 5:33.

Photo: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.