Tour de France will Add Time Bonuses on Climbs

The ASO looks for more innovation

Attacking riders at the Tour de France will be further rewarded after an increase in valuable bonus seconds for being the first to crest key summits.

The new system was ratified by the international cycling federation (UCI), a source said Thursday.

The winner of each bonus-point sprint will now receive eight seconds, the runner-up five seconds and the third-placed finisher two seconds, instead of 3, 2 and 1 seconds in place last year.

Tour de France 2017 – 104th Edition – 18th stage Briancon – Izoard 179.5 km – Romain Bardet (FRA – AG2R – La Mondiale) – Christopher Froome (GBR – Team Sky) – photo TDW/BettiniPhoto©2017
Eight bonus-point sprints (host town in parentheses):
Stage 3 (Epernay): cote de Mutigny
Stage 6 (La Planche des Belles Filles): col des Chevreres
Stage 8 (Saint-Etienne): cote de la Jailliere
Stage 9 (Brioude): cote de Saint-Just
Stage 12 (Bagneres-de-Bigorre): Hourquette d’Ancizan
Stage 15 (Foix Prat d’Albis): mur de Peguere
Stage 18 (Valloire): col du Galibier
Stage 19 (Tignes): col de l’Iseran

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.