Wout Van Aert pipped Ethan Hayter to the Tour of Britain title after the Belgian won a dramatic sprint finish in the final stage on Sunday. Van Aert turned on the power to get past Mark Cavendish and Andre Greipel on the seafront in Aberdeen. With Hayter boxed in, the bonus seconds gave the Belgian the overall win by six seconds from the Ineos Grenadiers rider. The Jumbo-Visma rider crossed the line before looking back to see where Hayter was, sparking a jubilant celebration when he realized his fourth stage win of the week had clinched the title. If Britain’s Hayter had finished second in the stage, he would have held onto the overall lead. World champion Julian Alaphilippe completed the final podium.

The peloton made hard work of chasing back a six-strong breakaway on the 107 mile stage from Stonehaven, but finally reeled them in with 3 miles left. Hayter held a four-second lead overnight but, as Cavendish and Andre Greipel lit up the sprint battle early, he found himself out of position as Van Aert powered away. Van Aert’s debut appearance in the Tour of Britain was history-making. His tally of four stage victories is the joint-most in the modern incarnation of the race. He also became only the sixth rider to have won stages in England, Scotland and Wales.

Wout Van Aert (BEL – Jumbo – Visma) – Andre Greipel (GER – Israel Start-Up Nation) – Mark Cavendish (GBR – Deceuninck – Quick-Step)


1  VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma 4:07:56
2  GREIPEL André Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00
3  CAVENDISH Mark Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:00
4  JOYCE Colin Rally Cycling 0:00
5  KANTER Max Team DSM 0:00
6  TOWNSEND Rory Canyon dhb SunGod 0:00
7  GIBSON Matthew Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling 0:00
8  PECKOVER Ollie SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 0:00
9  BOSTOCK Matthew Canyon dhb SunGod 0:00
10  CULLAIGH Gabriel Movistar Team 0:00



1  VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma 31:42:22
2  HAYTER Ethan INEOS Grenadiers 0:06
3  ALAPHILIPPE Julian Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:27
4  HONORÉ Mikkel Frølich Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:41
5  WOODS Michael Israel Start-Up Nation 1:00
6  DENNIS Rohan INEOS Grenadiers 1:14
7  MARTIN Dan Israel Start-Up Nation 1:16
8  SBARAGLI Kristian Alpecin-Fenix 1:43
9  DONOVAN Mark Team DSM 2:04
10  RODRIGUEZ Carlos INEOS Grenadiers 2:07


Photos: Alex Broadway/SWPix/CV/Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.