Tour of Luxembourg Halted as Riders Protest About Traffic

Riders in the Tour of Luxembourg went on strike for 100 kilometers on Wednesday because they felt organizers were not doing enough to keep cars off the route. Riders had been unhappy about traffic on the course after Tuesday’s opening stage and after 18 kilometers on Wednesday, they stopped riding.

“Security wasn’t there yesterday and it wasn’t there this morning. All the riders found it logical to make a little protest”, French champion Arnaud Demare, who ended up winning the stage, told RTL radio.

After discussions, the peloton agreed to ride the planned 160km stage from Remich to Hesperange but only, organizers said, if the next 100km were ridden as a ‘neutralised procession’.

The riders complained that traffic was only cut off briefly along the route and cars were allowed to drive in the other direction. Pierre Barthelme of the tour organizers said only one car ignored police and drove onto the course on Wednesday morning.

“We have to talk tonight to find solutions for the next days,” said German John Degenkolb.

Italian rider Jacopo Guarnieri had complained on Tuesday about a bus parked on the course with 4.5 kilometres to go in the opening stage when riders were moving “at 40mph”.

Skoda-Tour de Luxembourg 2020 – 2nd stage Remich – Hesperange – Eros Capecchi (ITA – Bahrain – McLaren)

Racing was cancelled as the pros agreed to ride two abreast for over 60 miles to the finishing circuit of stage 2 at the Tour of Luxembourg.


1  DÉMARE Arnaud Groupama – FDJ 50:06
2  PHILIPSEN Jasper UAE-Team Emirates ,,
3  KRIEGER Alexander Alpecin-Fenix ,,
4  WARLOP Jordi Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise ,,
5  CAPIOT Amaury Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise ,,
6  GUARNIERI Jacopo Groupama – FDJ ,,
7  GROSU Eduard-Michael NIPPO DELKO One Provence ,,
8  OLIVEIRA Rui UAE-Team Emirates ,,
9  BUDDING Martijn Riwal Securitas Cycling Team ,,
10  JANSE VAN RENSBURG Reinardt NTT Pro Cycling ,,



1  ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates 4:03:11
2  PHILIPSEN Jasper UAE-Team Emirates 0:04
3  CAPIOT Amaury Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise ,,
4  GROSU Eduard-Michael NIPPO DELKO One Provence ,,
5  KRIEGER Alexander Alpecin-Fenix 0:06
6  OLIVEIRA Rui UAE-Team Emirates 0:07
7  WARLOP Jordi Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise 0:10
8  JANSE VAN RENSBURG Reinardt NTT Pro Cycling ,,
9  VAKOČ Petr Alpecin-Fenix 0:12
10  ABERASTURI Jon Caja Rural – Seguros RGA 0:13


RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.