Italian Gianni Moscon grabbed his second stage win in three days on the Tour of the Alps as Britain’s Simon Yates held the overall race lead with two days remaining. Moscon, who is hoping to make the cut with his Ineos team for the Giro d’Italia next month, crossed the line just ahead of Felix Grosschartner after the 100-mile-long third stage between Imst in Austria and Naturno in Italy. The 27-year-old held on after an impressive breakaway to follow on from his solo triumph in stage one at Innsbruck. Four riders broke away from the main pack with 13 miles to go and Moscon ended the stage ahead of Austrian Grosschartner, with Michael Storer of Australia third.

Tuesday’s stage winner Simon Yates of Bike Exchange held onto the overall lead of the five-day race, finishing in the main pack.

“On Monday I broke the ice in Innsbruck, now I have regained my confidence and feeling with victory,” said Moscon who hails from Trento.

“Dreaming of a hat-trick in my Trentino might seem too much right now.

“Tomorrow we have a hard and important stage, and we are ready to stand by Pavel Sivakov, hoping that hoping that his fall will leave no significant aftermath.”

Defending champion Sivakov fell mid-stage but the Russian climber managed to rejoin the peloton and is second overall, 45 seconds behind Yates.

Pavel Sivakov (RUS – Ineos Grenadiers)

“Today we were able to control the race, the team did a great job, and I was able to save some energy for tomorrow,” said Yates.

Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome finished over eight minutes behind his fellow Briton and is 98th overall, more than 20 minutes off the top spot.

The key stage will be Thursday’s fourth, which is also the longest, over 105 miles from Naturno, with a 6 mile ascent heading into the finish line at Pieve di Bono.

Gianni Moscon (ITA – Ineos Grenadiers) – Felix Grossschartner (AUT – Bora – Hansgrohe)



1  MOSCON Gianni INEOS Grenadiers 4:04:25
2  GROSSCHARTNER Felix BORA – hansgrohe 0:00
3  STORER Michael Team DSM 0:01
4  FABBRO Matteo BORA – hansgrohe 0:01
5  DE MARCHI Alessandro Israel Start-Up Nation 0:01
6  NIBALI Antonio Trek – Segafredo 0:01
7  BIDARD François AG2R Citroën Team 0:01
8  BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 0:01
9  SÁNCHEZ Luis León Astana – Premier Tech 0:01
10  PERNSTEINER Hermann Bahrain – Victorious 0:13


1  YATES Simon Team BikeExchange 10:52:10
2  SIVAKOV Pavel INEOS Grenadiers 0:45
3  BILBAO Pello Bahrain – Victorious 1:04
4  MARTIN Dan Israel Start-Up Nation 1:04
5  VLASOV Aleksandr Astana – Premier Tech 1:08
6  CEPEDA Jefferson Alexander Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 1:08
7  HINDLEY Jai Team DSM 1:27
8  CARTHY Hugh EF Education – Nippo 1:27
9  GUERREIRO Ruben EF Education – Nippo 1:52
10  SCHULTZ Nick Team BikeExchange 1:52


RBA/AFP Photos: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.