Colombian Sergio Higuita sealed overall victory in the Tour of Catalonia on Sunday after the seventh and final stage won by Italy’s Andrea Bagioli. Higuita controlled the attacks of his rivals over a stage which finished with six climbs up the Olympic hill at Montjuic in Barcelona. The Bora rider held his 16-second overnight lead on Ineos’ Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz having gained the upper hand on the Olympic road race champion in Saturday’s long 75 mile two-man breakaway.

“I was tired after yesterday’s stage, I knew it would be tough,” said 24-year-old Higuita.

“I was waiting for the attacks and they came.”

On Sunday, Bagioli joined the leading group in the final kilometre, winning a sprint finish ahead of Hungary’s Attila Valter.

The 23-year-old Italian achieved the second success of the week for his Quick Step team, two days after teammate Ethan Vernon.

“We’re all tired because it was a tough week,” added Higuita following a race overshadowed by Sonny Colbrelli’s collapse and heart problem after the first stage.

This was Higuita’s first WorldTour stage race triumph and his second success of the season after a stage in the Tour of the Algarve in Portugal last month.

Andrea Bagioli (ITA – Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) – Attila Valter (HUN – Groupama – FDJ) – Fernando Barceló (ESP – Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


1 Andrea BAGIOLI Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 3:18:09
2 Attila VALTER Groupama – FDJ 0:00
3 Fernando BARCELÓ Caja Rural – Seguros RGA 0:00
4 Juan AYUSO UAE Team Emirates 0:00
5 Dylan TEUNS Bahrain – Victorious 0:00
6 Guillaume MARTIN Cofidis 0:00
7 Nairo QUINTANA Team Arkéa Samsic 0:00
8 Carlos VERONA Movistar Team 0:00
9 Sergio HIGUITA BORA – hansgrohe 0:00
10 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 0:00



1 Sergio HIGUITA BORA – hansgrohe 29:53:33
2 Richard CARAPAZ INEOS Grenadiers 0:16
3 Joao ALMEIDA UAE Team Emirates 0:52
4 Nairo QUINTANA Team Arkéa Samsic 0:53
5 Juan AYUSO UAE Team Emirates 1:08
6 Ben O’CONNOR AG2R Citroën Team 1:10
7 Tobias JOHANNESSEN Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 1:13
8 Guillaume MARTIN Cofidis 1:16
9 Torstein TRÆEN Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 1:27
10 Sam OOMEN Jumbo-Visma 1:55


Sergio Higuita (COL – Bora – Hansgrohe)


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.