Two-time former world champion Rohan Dennis powered to victory for Ineos in a challenging 18.5km individual time trial on stage two of the Volta Catalunya on Tuesday. Australian Dennis completed the course in 22 minutes and 27 seconds, while his teammates and title contenders Richie Porte and Adam Yates also posted solid performances. Remi Cavagna of France was second the emerging Portuguese star Joao Almeida came third and took the overall lead in the seven day race. Almeida of Deceuninck Quick-Step wore the Giro d’Italia’s pink jersey for 15 days in a stunning breakout last year, and this performance comes as no surprise.

The win was a first for Dennis since joining Ineos in 2020, although his work in the Giro helped the British team win the title with Tao Geoghegan Hart.

“It means a lot,” said Dennis, who lived in the Girona region before his switch.

“It’s my first victory with Ineos Grenadiers and my first victory since Yorkshire Worlds,” said Dennis of his second world championships win in 2019.

Four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome finished almost three minutes off the pace as his struggle for top form continues in his new Israel Start Up Nation colors.

One of the top paid riders in the world Froome also lost eight minutes on the first stage.

Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP – Astana – Premier Tech)


1  DENNIS Rohan INEOS Grenadiers 22:27
2  CAVAGNA Rémi Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:05
3  ALMEIDA João Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:28
4  MCNULTY Brandon UAE-Team Emirates 0:29
5  KRUIJSWIJK Steven Team Jumbo-Visma 0:33
6  PORTE Richie INEOS Grenadiers 0:35
7  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:35
8  CERNY Josef Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:38
9  DE BOD Stefan Astana – Premier Tech 0:39
10  THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 0:47


1  ALMEIDA Joao Deceuninck – Quick Step 4:43:26
2  MCNULTY Brandon UAE-Team Emirates 0:01
3  SANCHEZ Luis León Astana – Premier Tech 0:03
4  KRUIJSWIJK Steven Team Jumbo-Visma 0:05
5  YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:07
6  PORTE Richie INEOS Grenadiers 0:07
7  DE BOD Stefan Astana – Premier Tech 0:11
8  THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 0:19
9  MASNADA Fausto Deceuninck – Quick Step 0:21
10  KÄMNA Lennard BORA – hansgrohe 0:22

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.