Remco Evenepoel of the Quick-Step team retained his large overall lead in the Vuelta a Espana on Saturday’s stage 20 ahead of Sunday’s final-day promenade to Madrid. Evenepoel wept in the arms of his sports director at the finish line and it is 44 years since any Belgian won a Grand Tour when Johan de Muynck won the Giro in 1978. The 22-year-old Evenepoel took the leader’s red jersey on stage six on a foggy mountaintop in Asturias. He then extended his lead by dominating the individual time-trial before nursing his lead over several mountains and then winning another key mountain stage. Barring total disaster he will roll into Madrid to claim his first Grand Tour.

Quick Step team boss Patrick Lefevere said Evenepoel had been like a son to him since joining at 17.

“I’m going to tell him thanks for joining us and going through all this together,” said Lefevere who stood by his rider through dark times after his fall from a bridge in 2021.

“He took his time to win one in the end,” said Lefevere of the fact Evenepoel hasnt won a three week Tour yet.

“The fall took a year out of his career.”

Evenepoel was equally delighted.

“I’m so happy to be the first guy to win a grand tour for Patrick as a CEO, for Belgium, for my country, for my teammates, for my parents for my fiance,” he said.

“Actually it’s an amazing year winning a monument (Liege-Bastogne-Liege), winning San Sebastian again, winning two stages here and the GC and then getting married in the winter.”

Evenepoel is one of the favorites to win the world championships in Australia next month. Saturday’s 112 mile stage from Moralzarzal to the Puerto de Navacerrada mountaintop finish was won by Ineos Grenadier Richard Carapaz, for his third stage win on this race.

In the overall standings Movistar’s Enric Mas stayed second at 2:05 with Juan Ayuso of UAE Emirates third at 5:56. The pair should round out the podium in Madrid. The King of the Mountains climbing points category will also go to Carapaz, who was racing in Ineos colours for the last time. Evenepoel is also set to win the best under-25’s white jersey while the green sprint jersey will be settled in Madrid with Denmark’s Mads Pedersen in a huge lead huge lead.


1 CARAPAZ Richard INEOS Grenadiers 4:41:34
2 ARENSMAN Thymen Team DSM 0:08
3 AYUSO Juan UAE Team Emirates 0:13
4 HINDLEY Jai BORA – hansgrohe 0:13
5 MAS Enric Movistar Team 0:13
6 EVENEPOEL Remco Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:15
7 MEINTJES Louis Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux 0:15
8 LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Qazaqstan Team 0:15
9 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 0:17
10 HIGUITA Sergio BORA – hansgrohe 0:32



1 EVENEPOEL Remco Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 78:00:12
2 MAS Enric Movistar Team 2:05
3 AYUSO Juan UAE Team Emirates 5:08
4 LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Qazaqstan Team 5:56
5 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 7:16
6 ARENSMAN Thymen Team DSM 7:56
7 RODRÍGUEZ Carlos INEOS Grenadiers 7:57
8 O’CONNOR Ben AG2R Citroën Team 10:30
9 URÁN Rigoberto EF Education-EasyPost 11:04
10 HINDLEY Jai BORA – hansgrohe 12:01


RBA/AFP Photos: Sprint Cycling Agency

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.