Vuelta a Espana 2019 Stage 13 Race Recap & Results

The mountain stage takes its toll.

Slovenian Tadej Pogacar mastered the mountainous Vuelta a Espana 13th stage on Friday with his compatriot Primoz Roglic consolidating his grip on the leader’s red jersey. The stamina-sapping 166.4-kilometer ride featuring seven climbs saw Pogacar attacking on the brutal final ‘hors categorie’ ascent to Los Machucos.

“It’s an incredible day for me. I heard on the radio that no one was following me as I attacked. I realized it was a very good opportunity,” Pogacar said.

While the 20-year-old (riding for UAE Emirates) was the day’s winner, Roglic, who crossed the finish line in second, took a giant stride towards overall victory in Madrid on Sunday week. He extended his lead over Alejandro Valverde at the top of the general classification to two minutes and 25 seconds.

“Today was a massive fight. It’s a great day for Slovenian cycling,” Roglic said.

Miguel Angel Lopez and Nairo Quintana, two other key challengers to win cycling’s third Grand Tour of the year, are now trailing by 3min 18sec and 3min 33sec respectively ahead of the 14th stage after being left in Roglic’s wake.
Pogacar is now third in the standings ahead of Lopez and Quintana at 3min 01sec.

The sprinters will be far more suited to Saturday’s 188km ride with an anticipated mass sprint finish in Oviedo.
The stage should allow Roglic and his main title rivals to draw breath ahead of a return to the mountains on Sunday.

Vuelta a Espana Stage 13 from Bilbao to Los Machucos. Monumento Vaca Pasiega Results:

1. POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 4:28:26
2. ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma s.t.
3. LATOUR Pierre AG2R La Mondiale 0:27
4. VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team s.t.
5. QUINTANA Nairo Movistar Team s.t.
6. MAJKA Rafał BORA – hansgrohe s.t.
7. LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Pro Team 1:01
8. BRAMBILLA Gianluca Trek – Segafredo 1:08
9. SOLER Marc Movistar Team s.t.
10. KELDERMAN Wilco Team Sunweb s.t.


 Overall Standings

1. ROGLIČ Primož Team Jumbo-Visma 49:20:28
2. VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 2:25
3. POGAČAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 3:01
4. LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Astana Pro Team 3:18
5. QUINTANA Nairo Movistar Team 3:33
6. MAJKA Rafał BORA – hansgrohe 6:15
7. EDET Nicolas Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 7:18
8. HAGEN Carl Fredrik Lotto Soudal 7:33
9. KELDERMAN Wilco Team Sunweb 7:39
10. TEUNS Dylan Bahrain Merida 9:58


Photo: Bettini

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.